We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star on all counts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
The pretty front garden is a great place to relax and enjoy views of the Eildon Hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Romantic and cosy, Kirkton Cottage is the perfect get away for couples, families or friends and dogs
The pretty front garden is a great place to relax and enjoy views of the Eildon Hills
The bright hallway welcomes you into our charming period cottage
A warm welcome (and chilled champagne) awaits you. A welcome basket of homemade and seasonal treats
Enjoy relaxing and cosying up in front of the log fire.
Our bespoke kitchen has beautiful Emma Bridgewater and Denby pottery, a belfast sink and dishwasher
Real slate flooring, oak beam & seating for 4, the kitchen/diner leads out onto a colourful terrace
The beautifully appointed family  bathroom has spa toiletries and soft egyptian cotton towels
A luxurious soak in a hot deep bath or a refresh in the rainfall shower - the choice is yours
The tranquil downstairs master bedroom in neutral tones has a kingsize bed and lots of storage
And so to bed ...Lots of little touches to make your stay special
Cosy robes are supplied for your comfort to relax in
The bright upper landing snug with cuddler sofa - ideal for planning your trips out and about
The bright upstairs bedroom made up as a twin
Lots of colour and a Weber gas BBQ to cook up some tasty treats
Cheers ! Relax after a busy day out and about enjoying all the area has to offer.
The fully equipped laundry & secure storage space for bikes etc in an adjacent building for your use
The beautiful Abbey town of Melrose  - part of the 4 Abbeys cycle route, just five minutes away
Melrose town centre - full of independent retailers and fabulous coffee stops and quality eateries
The River Tweed is great for picturesque riverside walks and for fishing
Melrose RFC hosts its world famous Rugby 7's,  in April each year. Book early to enjoy the action.
Come and stay in our centrally located luxury cottage in the beautiful Scottish Borders
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Smoggy36
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“5 star on all counts!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just got home from a 3 night stay with my wife and 2 daughters (14 + 13). The cottage is in a quiet village but within minutes drive of a number of larger villages that offer everything you would need. The cottage has a real feel of luxury and has been lovingly decorated with quality throughout. It is also incredibly well equipped and the welcome pack was a nice surprise. Angie met us as we arrived and had the kettle boiled along with some homemade cakes. The girls loved the park which was just 2 minutes walk and our dog loved the various walks that were on offer. The attention to detail that Robin and Angie put onto their guests is clear ... the various books / DVDs and games are even changed to target the type/age of the guests they have coming. We loved our stay in this cottage and would highly recommend it. We hope to be back in the future (although may sneak an adult only weekend in with the champagne in front of the log fire!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Hi Graeme. Thanks very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Kirkton Cottage. Im glad the girls enjoyed the choice of books, DVD's and board games - a great way to relax in front of the fire together!
We will have a bottle of champagne on chill ready for you both for that romantic return trip for two!
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Kind regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welltrave...
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Recently spent a great week in this Borders 'gem'. Arriving to a warm and friendly welcome from the Angie and stepping into Kirkton cottage we knew this was somewhere very special. As another reviewer has mentioned the cottage is spotless and I have to admit I am fussy! Beautiful welcome basket of goodies, and the whole cottage is equipped to an extremely high standard with everything you could need or want! Your every need is catered for. We found the village of Bowden a great base for walking the many trails in the area, to drive around the other towns in the area, and a short drive to the new Borders railway at Tweedbank with a direct link to Edinburgh. To return to the cottage at the end of the day to enjoy the BBQ and patio in nice weather or to curl up in front of the log fire was great. Can't recommend Kirkton cottage highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kirkton Cottage and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianT422
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kirkton Cottage exceeded high expectations”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The cottage is located within easy access from the A68 in a picturesque village. Bowden is a good location from which to explore the Borders.
We were welcomed by the charming and friendly owner (Angie) who showed us all of the features including the excellent welcome pack comprising champagne, home made cakes, jam, biscuits, milk etc. Very generous and probably the best we have ever had.
The cottage is sympathetically restored and completed with tastefull furnishings a well equipped kitchen and superb beds. The overall instant feel was one of warmth and welcome. To say this cottage was clean is an understatement.
The overriding memory is one of comfort, warmth and relaxation.
We look forward to a return visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Hi Catherine & Brian. Thanks for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed all Kirkton Cottage and the Scottish Borders have to offer and hope to see you again soon. Angie & Robin x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxury & Location”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Recently had a short stay at this cottage which is beautifully furnished & very well equipped. The owners have clearly spent a huge amount of time & effort ensuring every need is catered for from a huge array of baby equipment & supplies, books, games & DVD's for every age, luxury bathrobes & toiletries to the Himalayan Pink rock salt for those that like to cook!
Time can be whiled away in the small but perfectly laid out rear terrace area with a BBQ, curled up reading or iPad - 'ing' in the snug, playing games at the kitchen table, relaxing in a very deep bath or just chilling out listening to music in front of the log burner.
If I had a checklist of all the things I want in a self catering property, this would tick every box. It really is ideal for romantic getaways, families with babies to teens & more mature couples looking for a peaceful break without having to climb stairs.
We were on a short romantic/golfing break & there were plenty of easily accessible courses to play & excellent local produce to purchase & cook/eat at the cottage, (the cottage was so lovely we didn't want to eat out!)
We loved it : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything : )
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Hi Heather. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back to Kirkton Cottage soon for some golf and relaxation. Robin & Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Merci beaucoup pour votre belle critique. Nous sommes ravis que vous avez apprécié votre séjour au Chalet Kirkton et que vous l'avez trouvé cosy et confortable - même pendant les tempêtes de neige magiques. C'est génial de vous entendre arriver à voir et à faire autant pendant votre séjour en Écosse. Nous espérons que nous pourrons vous accueillir dans le futur.
Amitiés sincères
Robin et Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing