We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic barn conversion holiday cottage in a...”

Review of Dignity

Dignity from outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dignity from outside
Dignity from outside Dignity Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Dignity from outside
Dignity from outside
Dignity Hot tub
Kitchen
Kitchen/ Living
Dining area with a view
Dining area with a view
Living space
Utility
Downstairs shower room
Living space Ground floor
Living space 1/2 landing
Living space 1/2 landing
Living space 1/2 landing
1/2 landing bedroom with 4 poster Super king bed and ensuite bathroom
1/2 landing bedroom with 4 poster Super king bed and ensuite bathroom
1/2 landing 4 poster bedroom ensuite
Top landing
Twin bedroom or can be SKS
Main bathroom with bath and separate shower
Main bedroom with ensuite, and dressing room
Main bedroom with ensuite, and dressing room
Main bedroom ensuite
Single bedroom 1
Single bedroom 2
It's all in the detail
loch for wild brown trout fishing
Suffolk ewes enjoying a crisp winter on the hills above Dignity
Dignity is surrounded be 2000 acres of farmland. One of the neighbours
Dignity at Christmas
Dignity at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galashiels, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
karinf246
1 review
“Fantastic barn conversion holiday cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cannot fault this place in any tiny way - everything was perfect! Spacious, comfortable, well appointed, had everything we needed and more - even a brand new hot tub. Comfy mattresses, great showers, all crockery and cutlery matching (and plenty of it), great washing machine and tumble dryer, dishwasher tablets and washing powder supplied. Liz, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful in every way. We were able to bring our dog, who had just as good a time as we did. Looking forward to staying again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Self Catering Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in this cottage in April for a family get together and were so impressed by everything in the place. As holiday accommodation it exceeded our expectations immediately and continued to do so in every regard. It was more than big enough for the nine of us and two dogs and the lay-out of the main living accommodation meant it was perfect for a family space.
From the moment I booked Liz was extremely helpful in catering for our needs and offering the perfect level of communication required throughout.
I think what surprised me most was the level of luxury throughout the property because I didn't recall that it had been advertised as such a high end property. It far exceeded other places we've rented that sell themselves much more.
We'll definitely return one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandie941
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best cottage in the borders”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in Dignity to celebrate an 80th birthday.
From the moment you set eyes on the cottage you know
it is going to be fabulous inside. We were welcomed with essential
supplies of tea, coffee, bread, butter, jam. orange juice and milk.
To top it off was an homemade victoria sponge cake which was delicious.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean.
White fluffy towels, dressing gowns and toiletries are provided.
It had everything we required to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
There are games/dvds to keep children occupied.
You can tell the owners take great pride in their property and this is a credit to them and they have made an home from home for their guests to enjoy.
The owner Liz was friendly and approachable and was on hand if any problems occurred. We have stayed in many lovely cottages but this has definitely been the best. We would recommend this property to everyone and believe you would not find a better place to stay in the borders and we are planning to return next June. This is the ideal location for visiting Melrose and the Scottish Border towns.
Thank you Liz for our treats and our lovely time in Dignity, see you again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Dear Sandra,
Thank you for this lovely review. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Dignity. We do try to ensure that we maintain the same standards for all guests to enjoy. Thank you again. Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_Rob...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked to stay in Dignity early 2015 and stayed last week (beginning of September) for 4 nights.
As everyone does, we had looked through many holiday rentals online (we are very picky) but Dignity stood out a mile. It is fair to say that even the lovely images online and the faultless reviews on here don't even come close to how amazing this place really is. It is stunning and was a perfect get away for us all.
The finish of the barn is to a very high standard and it is equipped with everything that could be needed.
Liz had left barn open for our arrival and we were greeted with a lovely home made cake, orange juice, tea & coffee, biscuits, bread, jam and even ice creams in the freezer! 2 of our friends had travelled down from Aberdeen and we also had a 4 hour journey up from Yorkshire so we really really appreciated the generous touches.
Once we had our bearings and refuelled we went off to Asda (there is also a Tesco's, both around 15 minutes away) so no worries on stocking up with food!
Our few days were spent walking around the beautiful area in which the barn is set in. We spent one day in Edinburgh which is only 45 minutes to an hour away. We just missed the railway being opened by the Queen which would have been handy as it goes straight into Edinburgh. Our last full day was spent 'adventuring' Glentress Forest on bikes (not for the faint hearted) after some lunch in Peebles which is only a 20 minute drive.

We all cannot thank Liz enough, we had a brilliant stay and couldn't have asked for any more!
Hopefully we will all be able to return to Dignity one day! I will definitely be recommending Dignity & Time to anyone wishing to stay in the Scottish Borders.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffie70
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing place away from it all”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a family holiday in August which included 5 adults & 3 teenagers. The house is in a beautiful part of Scotland just a few miles from Galasheils. The house is furnished to a very high standard and everything you could need is there, a lot of thought has gone into this house. On arrival there was a large Victoria sponge on the table which was a lovely touch along with milk, coffee & tea so we could make a drink upon arrival.
Liz came to see us on our first evening to make sure eveything was ok, she was very helpful and really cared that our holiday was happy and enjoyable. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. We were very lucky to have good weather so did not get to try the multi stove in the living room which I can only imagine is a delight when it's chilly outside.
The house is in a central location and we visited family in Gifford, the Edinburgh Fringe & Tattoo and the National Museum of Flight in North Berwick all within an hour away. A shame that we were a couple of weeks too early for the new rail link between Galashiels and Edinburgh.
This is a fabulous property in a gorgeous part of the world and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing