We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait for our next visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galashiels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Can't wait for our next visit”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Thank you Linda and Derek for a wonderful stay. Everything from the beautiful room, excellent bathroom with super shower and super cosy underfloor heating, to the most delicious breakfast ever was all super. We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tavistock911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
89
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Even though we were expecting something special, this bed and breakfast came as a complete surprise and delight. Better than a 5 star hotel.

A bridge between Canadian and British design it combines an airy open feel with beautiful examples of the Arts and Crafts movement of the late 19th Century, and a fresh renovation. We had the warmest welcome and a fabulous nights sleep - our taxi driver told us that they served the best breakfast in the area and they did not disappoint.

Cannot recommend this enough and great value for money too - we actually thought the double room price was per person and it turned out to be for the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I've stayed at Maplehurst on a few occasions over the past 18 months or so and have always been reluctant to post a review in case I can't get in the next time I'm in the area! Linda & Derek are a credit to all in the way they look after their guests and nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and for the business traveller, a good wi-fi signal is a bonus. For me this is easily the best place to stay in the Borders area and believe me, I've tried many, many others. Breakfast is absolutely superb with a wide choice offered by Linda when you order on the previous evening. There are a few places to eat in and around the area in the evening, some within walking distance, others a short taxi ride away. The Salmon Inn, Nachos Fiesta, Herges, Burts are all worth considering depending on your personal tastes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1961Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in Maplehurst for the second weekend in February 2012. The house and the bedrooms are stunning. There is a great snug area for guests to relax and enjoy a drink. The breakfasts were superb and our hosts couldn't have been better. We travel a lot and stay in hotels and guesthouses regularly - my wife tells me I'm fussy - maybe I am but Maplehurst is superb - if your planning a break in the Scottish Borders you should stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was easily the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in - to be fair, I don't think that the term quite does this unique place justice. Linda and Derek were exceptionally helpful and welcoming - the offer of a Malt just after I'd got back from a fruitless and cold day's fishing went down particularly well as one might imagine. The house is stunning - I happen to love the Arts & Crafts style and Maplehurst is a stunning example of this.

I'd recommend it to anyone and will certainly stay there again]

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
5.3 km away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
177 reviews
3.3 km away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
914 reviews
4.8 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
258 reviews
0.1 km away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#4 of 11 in Galashiels
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplehurst Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Boutique Guest House

Property: Maplehurst Boutique Guest House
Address: 42 Abbotsford Road, Galashiels TD1 3HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLEEP WELL, EAT WELL & RELAX IN LUXURY Welcome to Maplehurst Guest House - our beautiful Arts and Crafts home in the Scottish Borders a hidden gem set in its own quiet, tree-lined grounds, with elegant period interiors, gourmet breakfasts and stylish modern comforts described by many guests as a 5 star boutique hotel. Striking original interior features including beautiful tapestries, rich oak panelling and the stunning stained glass window, A Woman with Fruit, help to create an unforgettable haven for your stay in the romantic Border country. At Maplehurst Boutique Guest House, we like to spoil you with our tailor-made gourmet breakfasts, It's all freshly cooked on the Aga, and served in our lovely oak-panelled Arts and Crafts dining room, for a perfect start to your day. Where possible we use fresh locally sourced ingredients, and cater for every palate, whether you prefer full Scottish/English breakfast, continental, or a taste of something new. Join us at our Maplehurst Cooking Academy or our Maplehurst Fine Dining Club for gourmet hosted dinners, enjoy the fantastic wine cellar. We cater for exclusive small in house events for up to 20 guests or garden events for max 50 guests, we also do outside catering on request. Maplehurst gives you the best of both worlds: only ten minutes' walk from Galashiels town centre, yet well back from the road, and quietly sheltered by tall trees. The house is set in its own generous grounds with sweeping lawns, maple, pine and cherry trees, and magnificent rhododendrons. On warmer days, you're welcome to use the summerhouse and patio, or explore the terraced garden. Our central location makes Maplehurst an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Border country, or hopping on the new Waverley Border train up to Edinburgh (35 miles) to see the city sights. Right here on the doorstep, there's the Southern Upland Way and Sir Walter Scott's magnificent Abbotsford House and within easy reach, you'll find romantic ruined abbeys and imposing castles, busy market towns and pretty villages, gentle lowland hills and a wild, spectacular coastline - all within the catchment of one of Britain's great salmon waters, the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House Galashiels, Borders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing