We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful island”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alma Cottage Alma Cottage is set in a private secluded garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Alma Cottage
Alma Cottage is set in a private secluded garden.
Alma Cottage is set in a private and secluded garden with local amenities close by.
Relax and unwind in the glass conservatory.
The spacious Twin room ensuite with toilet and wash basin.
A bubbly jacuzzi bath, perfect to de-stress in while on holiday.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Snowsquon...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful island”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Isle of Seil is exceptional if you like beautiful landscapes, peace and quiet, friendly people. Alma Cottage is well appointed and comfortable although those with young children need to be aware the upstairs is accessible via a spiral staircase. We enjoyed the wine and toiletries provided. The garden is a work in progress currently and our dog was very distracted by all the smells and evidence of small creatures - we never did work out if it was badgers or bunnies! Nice that the cottage provided a dog bed, dog towels and poo bags - thank you!

You can walk one way to the village stores in Balvicar in about 20 mins and if you go the other way you can walk to the pub and Bridge over the Atlantic. Good food and beer at the pub, basic provisions at the stores. Short drive to beautiful Ellanabeich and a short boat ride to Easdale. Also recommend taking the car over the ferry to Luing for Cullipool for views and a great visitor centre and cafe. 20 mins drive to bustling Oban for shops, boat trips, and brilliant fish and chips (try the vegetarian haggis and chips if you are a veggie!).

Also recommend crossing the island via the road, or the footpath beyond the pub in the evening for amazing sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Work being done on garden - large piles of garden waste
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your review, I think definitely bunnies in the garden to keep your dog amused! Delighted you saw a bit of the island and the other islands close by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark10124
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Away from the maddening crowd”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked this cottage knowing it was a little secluded for some peace and we weren't disapointed.

The cottage is ideal for a couple looking for that get away from it all holiday, with charming country roads leading to the small community of the Isle of Seil. As is the case in the modern world though Oban is but a short drive away with pretty much all you need, including Tesco which is open till midnight. Local shops are to be found on Seil as is a pub not far from the cottage which serves home cooked food. Be warned though that almost every eating establishment has its last cover at 9 p.m. so late dining isn't really possible in this part of the world and the local pub stops serving food at 8 p.m.

The cottage was warm and welcoming and the beds comfy which gave us a good nights sleep and the sitting room was very comfortable. The kitchen is modern and well equipped, plus there appeared to be a good stock of consumables, such as cleaning materials.

The owner came and introduced herself and enquired if everying was to our liking.

Take time to explore Seil and you will be rewarded and don't forget to book a trip with Sealife adventures and you will get a 10% discount on the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your kind review, delighted you had a great holiday. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodie_59...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Looking forward to holiday on Seil, property very average, certainly would not describe as the previous reviewer as "amazing" just average- before arriving we tried to phone the owners to discuss entry of Alma cottage,(no prior arrangements were given) this was met with answer that they were out. Once we gained entry, sadly the property wore a smell of wet dog- not very inviting, discovering later that the previous guests had a dog, not only dog hairs on some soft furnishings but a used dog poo bag was left in drive near garage, and had been overlooked by owner before our imminent arrival. Gardens were rather overgrown and made the interior of the house a little dull, also found a dead rabbit round side path of the property which again may have been overlooked, as the rabbit appeared long dead,thankfully we didn't have young children with us, that may have been slightly traumatic. An odd sock was found behind the bathroom door- otherwise i would say the property was in ok condition, unfortunately we never had the pleasure of a personal welcome from owners. rather disappointing! However before it sounds i am on a post holiday rant, this property is ideal for families and couples alike with plenty space and equipped fully for your needs, but if its a view of the local rolling hills you require, think carefully. Customer service relations could be improved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exploring the area
Liked least: lack of customer communication
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Very pleased that you found the cottage ideal for families and couples, we hope that you enjoyed the complimentary wine and toiletries. We are obviously very disappointed that you had issues as mentioned, our cleaner is normally excellent. Our phone number is on the welcome sheet which says to call us if there is anything we can help you with, we wish you had phoned us after you had arrived and we would have come ourselves and sorted everything out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmd402016
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were made so welcome and the cottage was wonderful especially the jacuzzi bath, ideal place to recharge yor batterie, plus lots of places of interest to visit. Even though near the road you couldn't hear any noise. The cottage was well equipped for all our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the west. D&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S
1 review
“Fantastic house, beautiful location!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

House done to a really good standard in a lovely area on Seil. The owners were also very nice and helpful. Would stay again! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, great weather for you! Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing