We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cnocaruan Sea View

Nothing between you & the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck West Coast sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Nothing between you & the water
Fishing Deck
West Coast sunsets
Watch the wild life from your easy chair
Patio doors out onto the deck
Comfy leather suite
Fully equipped dining kitchen
New addition; fishing deck right at the water's edge
The resident otter having her breakfast just off the new deck
Perfect for a sundowner!
Super King size bedroom
Twin room can be made up as another king size
Sea View Shower
Entrance Porch with lots of storage
The Falls of Lora in full flow
Ample off street parking available
Another stunning sunset
Surroundings
Watch the canoeists come & play in the Falls
Best views of the Falls
Set amongst amazing scenery
Magnificent Loch Etive
Oban Bay
Colourful Tobermory on the Isle of Mull
Stunning Glencoe is just a 30 minute drive away
Meet the locals
The Hogwart Express
The Hogwart Express
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had an absolutely amazing time! This place is even better than it looks in the pictures. We didn't even realise there was an upper AND a lower terrace/deck. The views are awesome, whether it is sunshine with your breaky or the beautiful sunsets. There's everything you need from the IPOD docking station to all the cooking equipment you could ask for (not that we used it). We enjoyed some lovely seafood in the local area. A real find and the owners, George and Gabriella, are super friendly. Thank you for a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Breakfast outside on the patio on the West Coast of Scotland, how good is that? You sure picked the perfect week for your 1st ever visit to Connel. Argyll showed her best side this week for you. It was a pleasure having you to stay and to see enjoying your holidays. Thank you very much for your review and hopefully 'til the next time.
All the very best,
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magic Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There are faults with this cottage, but they are all overwhelmed by the ever changing view of the loch. The owners live on site, but they did not disturb us at all, and they were lovely people. The washing machine is shared, but it wasn't any problem. The internet was not good. It only worked on one of the lounge chairs. There was only one toilet upstairs, which was inconvenient at times. The entrance is on the highway, and you have to manouvre your car as to face the street to go out. It is impossible to reverse out. However, we would go there again in a heartbeat. The view is absolutely magic. It is mesmerising, and ever changing. The photos cannot do it justice. The entrance to the loch, is constantly flowing strongly in both directions depending on the tide. The sitting room is perfectly placed to enjoy it. You can't take you eyes off it. The bedrooms are large, the beds are comfortable, the fittings are high end. The seafood is to die for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliF2807
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can I say that hasn't already been send before.......
The property is set to a very high standard and has everything you would need for a stay there. The views over Loch Etive and the Falls of Lora are just amazing and there is some thing different to look at every day, we were lucky enough to see the otter and lots of other wildlife. Thank you very much George and Gabriella.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for leaving a review after your stay, We're pleased the resident otter put herself on show and that you enjoyed Cnocaruan, Hopefully until next time! Regards Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday destination by far”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our hosts, Gabriella and George could not be more welcoming - whilst completely leaving us to our own devices.
The let is stunningly situated right on top of the Falls of Laura ( a horizontal tidal "waterfall") with great views from the outside decking and fishing deck.
The quality of the finish and furnishings is superb - thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the let, location and our great hosts.
Liked least: Leaving it...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. You sure did get a good show of the falls with it being a high tide! We are really pleased you enjoyed our spot as much as we do. Hopefully 'til next time! Best Wishes Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G
Porto Santo Island, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could stay there forever”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Took me some time to decide if I should write a positive review. I was afraid that if to many people find out how good it is to stay at Cnocaruan it would become more and more dificult to us to be able to book a reservation there. Ultimately and just because Gabriella and George were such an amazing host I decided to do it. If you are looking for a quiet place, with a wonderful view this is the where you want to go. On the first couple f days we just wanted to stay at the living room, sitting on the couch and enjoy the fabulous views. Plus, the house was immaculately clean, there us plenty of utilities, and when we needed something extra Gabriela allways did her best to provide it for us. One of the best places we have stayed in Soctland so far. Great quality/price relationship.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, cleanliness, owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Dear Lois & family, Thank you very much for writing the review, it was a pleasure having you to stay. All the very best for your plans and we look forward to seeing you again in Connel or over at yours when we visit my folks in Madeira. All the very best to you all.
Gabriella & George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing