We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cologin Farmhouse

Cologin Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cologin Farmhouse
The views from the farmhouse Free fishing on our trout loch in the hills
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Cologin Farmhouse
The views from the farmhouse
Free fishing on our trout loch in the hills
A traditional Esse stove complements the modern oven and 5 ring gas hob
The dining room table can seat 10 adults
There's an ice dispenser on the American Fridge Freezer.
The Esse keeps the farmhouse kitchen warm and cosy
This bedroom can be set up as a double or twins plus bunk beds
One of the kingsize beds at Cologin
Bedroom layouts are flexible and the ground floor ensuite can be a twin or an American King
Cologin has two ensuite shower rooms and two family bathrooms
Leather sofas and tween chairs infront of the open fire
Sunny south facing aspects
A BBQ with a view at a nearby beauty spot
The Barn Country Inn is just around the corner
There's a playpark at Cologin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jaggydave
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about Cologin is fantastic. We rented the farmhouse for a family party of 12 and what a place. So much room, fantastic location, everything you need supplied. We had a range of 4 year old to 85. The walks are great, nice quiet roads. Recommend a visit to Kilbride Cemetery. The food in The Barn was stunning and very reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joise_mmi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A wonderful place for a whole family break but not overcrowded. Plenty of space to allow some individual time. Scenery beautiful. Restaurant /bar very pleasing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: togetherness/creating memories
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank T
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great family holiday base near Oban”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The farmhouse is deceptively large and very well laid out and the website photos don't do it justice.. There were thirteen of us in the family staying there for a week - grandparents, three adult couples and five grandchildren. Everyone loved it. There was plenty of space a big enough dining table for all of us, and another table in the large kitchen. We had plenty of room. Apparently the farmhouse is to be refurbished soon and perhaps it is beginning to get a little worn but that was fine by us with five little kids charging about.
We loved the fireplace open to both the dining room and the lounge with a nice logfire.
Well equipped - an Esse as well as the cooker, fridge freezer which made ice : freesat tv's, ipod dock, WiFi for £10 for a week. And the pub / restaurant The Barn is nextdoor.
Would thoroughly recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice spot very close to Oban and safe for the kids to run about outside.
Liked least: Lack of a store for the kids bicycles.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brochan
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property and location. Response to feedback on issues found disappointing”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a ps to the preceeding review 'A lovely weekend at Cologin' April '14
Before leaving we brought some matters to the owner's attention which had caused some nuisance value. We were though disappointed with the owner's response. The owner dismissed feedback about bedroom curtains not screening out daylight effectively (on very large bedroom windows) as insignificant. For us, being woken at the crack of dawn on a non-work day / having a relaxing weekend break was pretty unwelcome. If you wouldn't like this either this may not be the best property for you. I should say though that I found this in the bedroom I slept in and don't know about the others. We also had problems with the water being scalding hot and then too cold as a result of having turned the water tank off because it was unusably hot. The owner explained that the water was usually heated by the 'Esse'? and the inference was that this would have provided comfortable temperatures. Suggest it would be worth checking in advance / on arrival to know what you need to do to avoid problems with water temperature. Similarly the heating controls were not clear, which meant we were too hot at night and we also found the oven controls unclear (this included a chef among us) which meant we had a very late dinner one evening, missing the music night in the barn as a result!. All of which we had taken in our stride, without major concern. We would though have hoped for a better response from the owner suggesting the items raised would be addressed for future visitors. In the absence of which, although it was otherwise a good property in a great location we are unlikely to return or to recommend without giving the above information.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing