We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views, lovely bnb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, lovely bnb”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Wonderful views, lovely bnb. Will definitely be recommending to others. My partner and I stayed on the 24th Sept 2012. Lovely furniture and friendly owners. The views over Oban and the Isle of Mull were stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee-muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    43
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
55
367
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Absolutely lovely B&B with a friendly and informative owner. Great views overlooking all of Oban. Everything in Oban was walkable from this great location, but don't walk if you don't like climbing a very steep hill back to your room!

Room Tip: This B&B has great views- it's high on the hill overlooking Oban- therefore- don't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Dunheanish is a wonderful place to stay if you are heading to Oban. William was a very welcoming host and was really interested in making sure we had a good time. My husband and I like to walk, and William had many suggestion for places for us to do it both near and a little bit further. We ended up "finding" a castle on the edge of town that we wouldn't have found on our own, and taking a wonderful woodland walk a few miles out of town. Our room at Dunheanish was very clean and although the bathroom was a little small, it was very clean also. The only problem we had was the very tight parking situation. There were six rooms rented the night we were there, and there is only enough parking for three cars on a monster hill in back of the guest house. It all worked out, and William was always ready to help with directing the parking, but it is an issue. Would we stay here again: YES!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room one, with a four poster, sitting chairs, nice bathroom and a fabulous view overlooking the bay and open water. We were welcomed by William who was very accommodating and had an excellent local knowledge and recommended local eateries. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dunheanish to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank newlife7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is our first trip to Oban and chose this guest house via the Internet. And did we choose well! Our room has an incredible view, the bed is comfortable and William is so gracious and helpful. It's a short walk to town and a steep but doable walk up. We're 63 and 59 and can make the climb easily.
I'm allergic to milk so William got in soy milk and soy yogurt for me.
I'd love to come back to Oban and I'd certainly recommend Dunheanish Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrano5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.0 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Property: Dunheanish Guest House
Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price range (per night): $96 - $131
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing