We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous weekend”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the George. It is fantastic! Room 9 is gorgeous! Breakfast in bed a must as well as sitting by the real fire sipping a Talisker. Restaurant is also very nice. I can't imagine a more authentic Scottish Inn. Book now!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMacD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 991 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Food spot on, Service spot on, Value for Money spot on ! I just can't praise The George enough !

There are always Specials available, apart from the standard menu. Dishes that you would find difficult to beat in most Restuarants in Glasgow. Warm and friendly atmosphere.

Always a pleasure to stop in the George for something to eat, I really like the ambience too, fantastic bar and setting, especially around Christmas.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Ghriogair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We first stayed in the George 2 years ago and had a fab time, we were actually in an apartment up above the co-op as the hotel was full, we had a great time and made lots of new friends, as well as enjoying the amazing scenery (a very beautiful place) if you like walking or driving Inveraray is a must.The apartment was very well equipped and spacious, we just popped along to the main hotel for our breakfast.
We returned this year (January) this time staying in room number 8, which was fabulous with a double jacuzzi en suite bathroom, dressing gowns,4 poster bed, tea/coffee etc.etc.Can thoroughly recommend that room, however we were dissappointed to be called on the next morning by staff to say we had to move rooms as we were only in that room for one night, no one told us at reception when we checked in that there had been a problem in the room we were supposed to go in and so they had put us there for one night, we wouldnt have minded if we had been informed, our next room was I think number 11, I wouldnt have that room again, it was a nice enough room and en suite but if you want to go to bed early the room is right up above the bar and if you are a light sleeper you would be better NOT to have this one.
There was also a mix up with our party, there was approx 20 of us celebrating a friends birthday and we had tables booked to eat at 6p.m we were all in the bar waiting to eat when (I think) the manager told us someone had telephoned to ask to put the meal back an hour, after speaking to everyone, we know that no one in our party did this , we think it was because there was had been an afternoon party and perhaps it was too quick for the kitchen, again we wouldnt have minded if they had just explained, having said that we had a fabulous time, the entertainment particularly on the Friday night was brilliant, the guys name was Ian Mitchell. There is live music on in the bar friday and saturday night. The food/menu was nice, quite a good selection and not over priced. All in all we had a great time and the 'Blips' as mentioned above wouldnt put us off going back, in fact I'm sure we will, just perhaps a little more communication would have been appreciated.The bar/waiting staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Number 8 was great and for speacial occasions the Merchants room is Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Have now stayed here 8 or 9 times, arriving once or twice by car and most times by motorcycle. we have always been made very welcome, even on those occasions we stood in dripping motorcycle gear. The bar and beer have always been good, served by friendly and helpful staff. The food is always fantastic, though on our last visit I thought the menu was trying to be a bit too fancy. On most visits we have upgraded to a superior room and have never found anything to fault. We are planning our 2012 visit already.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro8erts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed in Inveraray before and spent time socialising in the George bar and restaurant so decided to book into the hotel for a weekend. he whole experience from start to finish was excellent, room was massive , Donald and his staff were very welcoming and the food was fantastic. If you are planning a visit to Inveraray do not give this place a miss. thanks again for the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.8 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,532 reviews
0.2 km away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
709 reviews
13.8 km away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
444 reviews
33.0 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
20.5 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Inveraray

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: $131 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing