We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular view.”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“spectacular view.”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

we stayed there for two nights before last christmas while delivering presents to our grandchildren in campbeltown. the scenery was out of this world as the sea was actually frozen over. we had a room with a sea view which was lovely. It was spotlessly clean and there was a memory foam mattress on the bed, it was soooo comfortable. the breakfast was very good with a good choice of cereals,fruit juices, toast and a full scottish. the staff were lovely and we even booked a family meal for the second evening there. If its a view you are looking for you will not get much better as the hotel is situated right on the beach, there are also caravans there that are for hire. when we left it was snowing very heavily and the manager there was very concerned. I do not understand how anyone can say that they were unfriendly. If we could give this place more than a five score for location we most certainly would.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, you will not be diappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandtina161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    59
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
136
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We've just had a fantastic few days holiday on the Kintyre Peninsula. The Argyll hotel was the pefect base. It's right on the beach, with a fantastic patio to sit and have a glass of wine overlooking the ocean as the sun goes down.We saw dolphins, seals and a variety of seabirds- great for nature.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous, and the food was fantastic. We had breakfast and dinner in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the bay - beautiful!

There are vista and views everywhere you look, so super for artists - I know that Jolomo has several paintings of this coastline.

We loved it and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The room was clean with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyanneForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed here on a business trip as this was one of the only hotels in the area which had vacancies. As mentioned already, the location is absolutely stunning and the view from the dining room at dinner, as the sun set, was spectacular. However, I have to say that the meal was very disappointing. My starter of mushrooms in a stilton sauce served in a pastry tart was pretty tasteless (would never have gueseed there was stilton!) and this was followed by a rather tough steak served with chips and bland onion rings (desperately in ned of seasoning). The bed was possibly one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the bathroom had one liquid soap dispenser at the sink (no shampoo, gel or soap in the shower). The staff were very welcoming and it is only this aspect together with the panoramic view which prevents me awarding a score of 2 out of five.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnboyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a work trip. From the outside the hotel looked quaint and welcoming, set in a beautiful location. However unfortunately that is where the good points end. My room was dirty (carpet not hoovered, hairs in shower), it stank of old smoke and the bed was very very uncomfortable appearing to be very old and lumpy. The decor of the rooms was very old fashioned and in desperate need of updating. Hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful, although one member of staff was thoroughly miserable. The food ranged from awful (burnt and running in grease) to good (amazing chips and chocolate brownie) so very hit and miss. The location of the hotel is its biggest plus point, being right on a beautiful beach, with amazing views out over the sea and beach from the conservatory. However unfortunately for me this plus point does not outweigh the list of bad points which is why I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Just back from a stay at the Argyll Hotel. The hotel is a little tired and could do with some refurbishment. That said the room was comfortable, despite rather wonky beds. The food on the restaurant menu was quite uninspired. I feel the owners are missing a trick here as a more imaginative menu which makes much more use of local produce would be very welcome as there are few quality restaurants in this area. The location is stunning and right next to a great beach which makes this an ideal location for family holidays. The staff were all very helpful and friendly but if I were to visit this area again I would be more inclined to stay in one of the self catering chalets next to the hotel rather than in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
13.3 km away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
77 reviews
23.7 km away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
13.4 km away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
267 reviews
11.9 km away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
278 reviews
32.4 km away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price range (per night): $124 - $136
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Argyll Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argyll Hotel sits on Bellochantuy bay, 10 miles north of Campbeltown on the beautiful Kintyre peninsula. It is a small hotel with eight bedrooms, most boasting sea views of the Atlantic across to the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. The conservatory restaurant and lounge area give panoramic views of the ocean and islands too. A great place to chill and relax and of course to eat, with lunches and dinners served daily. Sit on our outdoor terrace and listen to the waves cascading onto the white sandy beach of the curved bay. The terrace leads directly onto the beach where you can walk off your dinner or build up your appetite before dinner. A great place too for children to play or to walk your dog. The hotel dates back to the late eighteenth century when it was built as a coaching inn and has remained as a hotel to this day. Modernised over the years, the hotel still retains the feel of an old west coast hotel with is cosy snug bar, but has the modern conveniences of en suite rooms with TV, free wi-fi access and an affordable restaurant meaning you do not have to leave the comfort of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Campbeltown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing