We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and very helpful owner”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenisla House

Lovely old listed property, sleeping 10. Free WiFi, Phone, Parking. Garden. Pet friendly. Games Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely old listed property, sleeping 10. Free WiFi, Phone, Parking. Garden. Pet friendly. Games Room
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3. Front entrance.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Lovely old listed property, sleeping 10. Free WiFi, Phone, Parking. Garden. Pet friendly. Games Room
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Front entrance.
The hand carved fireplace, wifi, phone, TV, books, Ninetedo WII, CD and games.
Loads of books and games.
A tribute to 19th century craftsmanship. A proud part of Scotlands, heritage.
Dining/family room open plan to kitchen, seats 10 and high chair.
An upright piano and 2 seater bed settee makes this a great hub for socialising.
Fully equipped kitchen with gas cooker, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee maker, etc ..
A balcony landing is lit by a stained glass window and leads to 2 double bedrooms and lounge.
This is a spacious double bedroom with views over rooftops to Balmashanner Hill.
Lovely old wardrobe with brass fittings and drawers.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Games room with 2 couches, 3/4 pool table, 3/4 table tennis table and table football game.
Two double Japanese Futons offer extra sleeping arrangements.
A great space for the family to enjoy in the evenings or on a damp day.
View from our upstairs lounge.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
Balmashanner Hill looks over Forfar and the Strathmore Valley to the Grampian Mountains beyond.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
The Pend is 300 metres away, with its chip shop, and dog, and child friendly pub with great food.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
gvmoir
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhere as a base in Forfar”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely welcome pack
Unfortunately kitchen floor still wet when we arrived (which wasn't till very late) and felt slippy/greasy.
Water in first floor bathroom got very very hot almost instantaneously in basin. Spoke to owner later and suggested a blending valve to prevent scalding. As adults we were quickly aware of how hot it became but young children may get injured.
Although it can sleep 10 the basement room has two double beds which are more like futons so no privacy for adults. would therefore suggest only for 8 adults/couples. If a group with kids then it's fine.
As a guest I don't expect to have to collect my rubbish and then take it to the local tip!!!
I was more than happy to sort out my rubbish for recycling etc. and put into the proper bin outside. After that then it's the companies responsibility to get it collected, not mine to take to the tip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The bedroom I was in was comfortable
Liked least: The kitchen floor needs replacing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncaciu
Cluj County, Romania
2 reviews
“Well equipped and very helpful owner”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent more than 2 weeks at Glenisla House, while working in the area. Anne is a very kind and helpful owner and the house is very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is very spacious
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments Aneta. It was very easy working with you and your colleagues were polite and courteous guests. We look forward to working with you again n the future. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristirom...
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excelent”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

O casa minunata cu o gazda pe masura. Recomand pentru o experienta de neuitat in Scotia.

Stayed for two weeks in this comfortable and friendly home while working in the area. Anne is excellent hosts. The room was beautifully comfortable, warm and welcoming, as was the lounge. The house is fully with everything you want to be like your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
It was lovely to have you stay with us, and appreciated how well you all took care of the House. We hope to see you all back in this area again, when you are next back in Scotland. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our second time staying in this lovely house. Clean, spacious, quiet, just a 5 minute walk into the centre of beautiful little Forfar and a warm and friendly landlady to boot!
Theres loads to see and do. If its a gateway to the Scottish Highlands your after then look no further!
I strongly reccommend this guest house, you wont be dissappointed.
Thanks again Anne, see you next time x

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Dear Mark, Thank you for once again coming for Bonfest. Thank you to our Forfar businesses, who looked out for you, and helped get you all to Kirrie and back again. You will always be welcome to stay with us. Regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseLor...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, welcoming and pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are just back from a short break away to Forfar for a friend's wedding. We stayed at Glenisla House for two nights. From the beginning Anne (the owner) was very good to deal well - very attentive and keen to make any personal choices to your stay! She met us at the house at the time we requested and gave us a very informative tour around the property and a mutitide of suggestions as to how spend our free time - we found this very useful! There is everything that you need in the house for a short or long stay and was very clean and well stocked. The house is amazing - quirky and a never ending treasure trail! We all enjoyed our stay here! The location is brillaint - only a small walk to local facilities and private parking and a lovely private garden to use!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house and the prompt and efficient service from the owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Dear Denise, Thank you so much for your kind comments. You were lovely guests and we look forward seeing you again, with a little more time to explore Angus and all there is to see and do. Our wee team does try to make your break a good experience and will appreciate your comments. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing