We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food , friendly staff ”
Review of The Old Brewhouse

The Old Brewhouse
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Arbroath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Old Brewhouse is no longer just a pub and restaurant. We now offer Bed and Breakfast in our 3 beautifully appointed en suite rooms - all with sea views. The rooms are extremely comfortable with TV & dvd, free WiFi, double glazing, king size beds, hostess tray, black out blinds, hair dryer, mains power showers, telephone and private parking.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Been here many times and always lovely food and friendly staff ! Great choice of daily specials on offer.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Petrie23562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Spur of the moment decided to head to Arbroath and treat ourselves to a bit of garden shopping then dinner. After much thought we decided we hadn’t been here for ages so with nothing booked we chanced a table for 2 today (Wed 4th April)
@ 5pm.
Not very friendly or welcoming waitress showed us to a table for 2. I ordered the chicken dish with a choice of black pudding or haggis
Chose the mash potatoes- hubby ordered the haddock & chips.
We were seated right beside bar and had to listen to the 2 girls behind bar prattle on about their holiday, wedding etc - not a lot of work getting done just droning on & on.
Food came hubby’s fish looked amazing but the chips looked frozen & over cooked.
My chicken was lovely but OMG the mash was vile - the plate was dominated by the awful mash - not once did our surly waitress come over and ask if the meal was ok. When we were both finished and I was waiting for the “was everything ok bit ? Or oh look half your plate is still full !)
Nope we got a do you want anything else ?
We finished our drink and went up to pay - surely at this point we would be asked if we enjoyed our food ? Was everything ok ?
Big FAT NO !!! Not interested
Won’t be back and certainly won’t be recommending it to anyone.
Shame used to do outstanding food !

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Picni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Popped in on the off chance that a table for two might be available and were lucky enough to get one. Told that they have an early supper special between 5 and 6.30 which we decided to go for. Two courses for £15. I ordered the scampi and my husband asked for the chicken curry. We didn’t have to wait long before we were served, the scampi was fantastic with the freshest salad and great home made chips. The chicken curry was equally well received and I’m told it had just the right amount of spice to it served with half rice and chips and a poppidom. Both meals were piping hot and absolutely delicious. For dessert we both went for the sticky toffee pudding with ice cream, just fabulous! Staff were also lovely and friendly so a winning combination. We will definitely be back!.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Busymum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Had a lovely family meal. Reasonable price for the great quality of food & friendly service. Great location & would recommend to friends & family,

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

The food was very good but the place could do with double glazing aswe had a window seat and felt a bit chilly although the place looked cosy from outside i noticed other diners next to our table kept their coats on while eating as did we.Pity because the staff and service was good

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Old Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing