We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
H Stephen...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What can I say. This was a perfect place to stay. Right on the ocean. Private deck right off the kitchen. Fireplace in the living room. If I had any idea it was going to be this good I would have booked a week instead of 2 nights. Extremely friendly and helpful host. Oh, did I mention that I really liked it? Hope to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Right on the ocean/privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyn c
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Must experience staying here”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very friendly welcome and the cottage is clean, very homely and we enjoyed the 'real' fire.
The location is superb and within easy distance to many interesting places and lovely walks.
Staying the lighthouse keepers cottage is an experience not to be missed-looking out to sea from the decking area, trying to spot wildlife and seeing the light on at nighttime.
Will definately be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: novelty factor and location
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabelle...
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Despite the chill wind howling in from the North Sea, we were warm and snug in front of our blazing fire. This is a must do, spectacular scenery combined with the novelty of staying in a lighthouse keeper's cottage. Loved our stay! Just a niggle...our bedroom (second
bedroom)had two
uncomfortable and rickety
single beds with nowhere to put our bags. The kitchen had no cupboards or pantry space and our groceries were strewn
across the window sill. But the experience was marvellous.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emy3330
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most memoreable house ever!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I'am a lighthouse lover, and it couldn't have been more perfect for me to stay 2 nights at the Skerry cottage! the house has been amazingly refurbished and this is the most scenic place i've ever rented! the cottage is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. I wished i could stay there longer. If you dream to sleep almost 'on the sea' and live the feeling of being a lighthouse keeper once in your life, I strongly recommend you to spend days at the Buchan Ness lighthouse, an A-MA-ZING place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffeetim...
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Unmissible”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I travelled here with my family (booked by my daughter Carrie) for my birthday - it was the most wonderful experience. The cottage was all that we wanted and more and the kindness of the owners was great. Although we had my grandchildren of 18 months with us cots etc were provided and the children loved the area and the excitement of the lighthouse. The cottage was fully equipped to a high standard, peat for the fires, games for chilly nights etc.
We just had the most wonderful time in the most beautiful surroundings and cannot wait to return. Would very much recommend this to anyone looking for something completely different - wild coastline but a beautiful cozy cottage to come home too what more could one ask.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing it was all wonderful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing