We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best short breaks ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ainsley_1...
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best short breaks ever!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Skerry cottage for 4 nights & loved every minute of it! My partner & I were wanting a wee break away to do nothing but relax. & we did. The cottage itself was lovely & clean & had everything that you need for self catering. The peat fire was the best bit of it all & I actually lit a fire myself on the 3rd day. (Was the best one of the whole 4 days, ha!). The location was amazing. The lighthouse & the cottages are on a wee island so you have to travel over a bridge to get to them which made it even more exciting. Our own wee island for a few days! The weather wasnt fantastic but we never ventured out much. That was the whole idea of the holiday. We spent most of our time in front of the fire relaxing. The double bed was comfier than the one we have at home which I thought would be hard to beat but it did. Wasnt wanting to leave Skerry cottage. Sheila & the cleaner were lovely too. 10 out of 10 for this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coal fire & comfy bed
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjcollins
Stowe, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Dark and Stormy Night”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My wife and I spent one night at Skerry Cottage. It was a dark, stormy and windy night - and it was fabulous. We had a little difficulty gaining access to the property but once we tracked down Shelia she was very cheerful and accommodating. Skerry is a 2 bedroom, self contained cottage with separate living room and kitchen. We made our own peat fire and hunkered down for the night. We woke to glorious sunshine and crashing waves off the back deck - perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Gaining access to the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aysem Z
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I felt like I was at home. Surrounding is full of natural snapshots!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this amazing place only for one night. It was just after Princess Anne's visit. I don't know whether it was extraordinarily good because of her visit but, if I visit Aberdeenshire again, definitely it will be the accommodation I would book. I felt like I was at home. The bedrooms, kitchen and the living room have everything you need and actually even more than you can guess.
The hosting was so friendly. The lady who welcomed us was so cute and helpful. She suggested the highlights on surrounding and also on our way to Aberdeen and then to Dundee.
There is not much famous places to visit nearby but for a romantic or nature holiday, it is one of the bests I have ever seen.
If you like taking photos, relaxing or may be watching sunset or walking through hills, I suggest this place with sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: -------
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NdCardiff
Airdrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wish we would have booked a longer stay!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was our first trip to Scotland and Skerry Cottage was the 1st place we stayed during our 3 week trip (and the best place we stayed). Sheila was there to greet us on arrival. The property was outstanding. Wonderful photography opportunity. Our son is 3 years old and the property was perfect for a toddler. We will be booking the cottage for our next trip to Scotland. The cottage was spacious, clean, and lovely. There is so much to do around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishP...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“The decking at Skerry Cottage is the bonus”
Reviewed 23 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Stayed at Skerry Cottage for 3 days. It is quiet and the deck facing out to sea is fabulous. You can watch the sunrise as well as sunset. Loads of seabirds and photo opportunities regardless of the weather. However turn your ahead around and the largest powerstation in Scotland is in the background and that does somewhat spoils the ambiance. The cottage itself is neat, spacious and decorated to a high standard. It is comfy, homely and the real fire in the living room is very effective. Fridge is very small so don't bring lots to cook - just buy locally. No dishwasher. Cleaning overall was very good but some misses- e.g. shelving with dust and bits on it in the kitchen, crumbs in the cutlery drawer etc.. small points but enough to make you feel others have been there before and left their mark. Nice places around to visit such as Fraserburgh Lighthouse Museum and you can go into the lighthouse; cliff top walks to see the Bullers O'Buchan and also Slains Castle; walk along Cruden Bay and drives to small coastal villages such as Pennan (where they filmed Local Hero) and Crovie show you how beautiful the coastline of this area is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decking and view
Liked least: The fridge - compact, no dishwasher
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2011
Thank you for a very professional review.
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Everyone (including myself) enjoys the feeling of peace when you're on the island,looking out on the sea and rocks, and for me, especially, looking up at the beams going round above your head at night ,is always amazing.
I think we're the most accessible of the Northern Lights, which means that, like the power station, we're part of a vibrant north-east community, based on fishing and all the amazing oil-based technology associated with the North Sea.( It also means that you're only a few minutes away from the local shops if you run out of wine or fancy a fish supper !)
I must apologise that you found some dust and crumbs in the kitchen- I checked as soon as i read your review, and could find none, but be assured, I'll be extra vigilant next time you visit us !- Only sorry that if you'd mentioned at the time, I could have done something about it, as we want our guests to be 100% happy with their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing