We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jimmywalker01
birmingham england

never ever again

Review of Colwyn Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2012
this is the worst hotel ive stayed in
my room had no raidiators (portable heaters only)and as the hotel has old wooden rotting window surrounds the room is really cold at night,a shower that doesnt heat up,what looked like holes in the walls but badly patched up,carpet was stained spiders webs,curtains that didnt match and as the place looked grotty i didnt have the breakfast
also my door looked like it had been kicked in at 1 point so i wouldnt leave any valuables lying around
Date of stay: September 2012
Room Tip: i wouldnt recommend any room
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$258
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$154
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$206
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$228
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
AU$79
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Colwyn Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$65
  • Travelodge
0.3 km from Colwyn Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge Bar
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$106
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$162
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
3.8 km from Colwyn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$50
  • Algotels
6.2 km from Colwyn Hotel
View more hotels in Aberdeen
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
2
5
1
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
5
1
2
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I visited this place last year on a business trip, it certainly wasnt my first choice but with it being aberdeen you will be very lucky to get some spare rooms somewhere in September.

Its a typical B & B but with the one added bonus that doors are always open, you have access to the lounge, its very central to the station with some good restraunts like Jewel In The Crown indian just a couple of minutes away.

The room i wanted was an en suite room, for one person, room was big, and it really isnt bad as others have wrote. All i can say is to make your own mind up when you visit but personally i agree with @sparkyfisher for his review.

Room tip: If i go to aberdenn i would certainly call them first before i look elsewhere, if you are also on a budget this hotel would be good. So expect what you pay for is what you get.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComputerGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Got forced to stop here as Aberdeen wa ls rammed. Somewhere I will never stop again the place was filthy!!!!

If you want cheap and a lack of hygiene stop here. Chalets where foul!!!!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have stayed on and off in hotels and BnB's in Aberdeen for a while and this hotel offers a friendly environment, fresh linen on request even though rooms are cleaned and bedspreads are changed very regularly. Offering great service plus the option use the lounge at your leisure day and night, as well as the kitchen ( including use of the fridge, freezer and washing machine ). The staff will go beyond duty to offer any help and service and if you are a reasonable person then this hotel will be ideal for someone needing a relaxed environment. Contrary to a previous review, Aberdeen is a cold cold city and extra heaters are offered and even an extra quilt. Snobs and extreme critics should steer clear as they are never happy anyway

Room tip: 1A - 5 are premium suite at great rates. £25 a night for a hotel in Aberdeen is great value and you will be offered 7 nights for 5 if requested I'm sure
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We booked 2 rooms, neither of the rooms had heaters. The rooms were provided with portable heaters, which gave no heat at all. We shivered almost all night.
At first glance the rooms looks spacious and nice, but the furniture and bed linen are extremely worn, torn and stained. The whole place had a smoky smell to it, despite being non-smoking.
Breakfast includes cereal (which did not look fresh) and toast with Tesco Jams in bottles. When asked for serviettes after breakfast, the guy rummaged around for 15 minutes and came back with Kitchen towels!
The staff was friendly, helpful and polite, and the location is ideal, but that’s about it.
Do not go there in winter expecting a warm stay.

Room tip: Dont stay on the ground floor rooms, they have no heaters
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fname L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I must admit I couldn't bring myself to actually stay here. I had pre-booked a room but when I arrived the man there said he hadn't prepared the room as he had lost the keys, I followed him into the kitchen as he looked and was deeply shocked at the state of it, the greasy grime and heaps of stuff. The carpet in the main entrance hall and stairs hadn't been vacuumed for a while either.
Then he astonished me by getting a step-ladder to break into the room from the outside and could we come back in 15 minutes! So were we to sleep in an unsecured room and get in and out by step-ladder

Date of stay: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nervesofsteeljanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews