We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B up the road from the Walled City”
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #4 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We tried hard to find a B & B in Derry that was not booked out and was advised that there were a couple up the road from the church. We chanced our luck and ending up here.Yes it is in a side street and not your normal country B & B but boy are we glad we stayed here did. Our hosts Paul and Stephen (can't remember which one) even did our laundry which we were so grateful for. The living room has a large sceen TV if you just want to chillout. The room we had upstairs gave us a fantastic view over the walled city. The family room had a single bed as well so there was heaps of room for our luggage. Whatever you wanted fo breakfast was made for you. Everything in the room was clean and cosy so our two nights spend here was our highlight to staying in Derry.
Yes it is 10 mins walk downhill to town and about 15mins back even for the over 60's but after eating it was not an issue to walk it off.

Room Tip: Get the family room at the back with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

We arrived in June 2011. Paul and Stephen's hospitality were great. The full Irish breakfast was tasty and the patio out back is an awesome place to play guitar, sing a few tunes - oh ya....it has a great view too. The rooms were small but clean and cozy and we were able to watch a movie in the living room-a bit past the 11pm close time-which we appreciated. We enjoyed the city of Derry. There is alot of old and interesting history (FYI-you can see the site of "Bloody Sunday" yes, the site U2 sings about from one of the bedroom windows) as well as some of the famous murals that are painted all around the city of Derry. We had a great time in Derry - and at Serendipity House - the hosts were very helpful with suggestions of "what should we do today".....and can hardly wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We visited Derry in October 2010 to attend the Halloween festival. We found the city and people to be very welcoming! Our hosts Paul and his son Stephen could not have been nicer! The facilities were clean and cozy and the daily breakfast was excellent! We can't wait to return to Derry and Serendipity House. Thanks to Paul and Stephen for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjprwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

An oldish house in a slightly scruffy street close to the city centre. The atmosphere was 'old-fashioned B&B'. However, the room was comfortable and clean, the host helpful and friendly, and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFBR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night, and were glad we were not staying longer. The room was the smallest we can ever remember staying in. We went out for dinner, so it was fine, I would not have felt like staying in and chilling out in it.. The bathroom was extremely small also with a mini sink and no soap provided: maybe that is a Northern Ireland thing... i don't know, it's not a big deal but is inconvenient when you expect that there will be soap. There was no wardrobe, just a few hangers. Having said all of that, I know old city houses are often very compact, and others might not mind the size of the room so much.

The breakfast was fine, homemade scones were a nice touch, a fry, as much as you wanted. For those who don't like fries, the selection was small enough. The owner was very helpful with our queries, there is an area to sit and a computer available. The location is convenient, close to the city. Uphill on the way back so elderly or infirm would be wise to take a taxi. We did not think it was particularly cheap considering the tiny room, tho accommodation in Northern Ireland is expensive, so relative to other places in Derry it might be.

Derry is well worth a visit, a unique little city, set on the river and with a fascinating history. We were very glad we stopped off there and will return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.7 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,098 reviews
2.0 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#2 of 44 in Derry
84 reviews
0.5 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: $74 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing