We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service for the price”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and service for the price”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Nice hotel. We got there late on a Saturday and there was a crazy party in the lobby - dressed up locals(?) dancing to cheesy American oldies. Everyone was having a great time and if we didn't have a sleepy six year old we would have joined the fun. Room was very clean. We had a view of Flaming Jacks's restaurant ant there were a couple of guys with fire sticks on Saturday night, so my son loved watching them. Room service was surprisingly fast and good. Breakfast buffet was what you would expect from a hotel. Overpriced but convenient. Pool and hot tub were very nice. Bring swimming caps. No children past 7pm. Tesco and movie theatre right around the corner. Note that very few stores are open on Sunday, so plan on sightseeing elsewhere then.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angdamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear angdamato,
Thank you for your review, we do hope you enjoyed your stay and will think of us if you plan a return visit, possibly for the 2013 city of culture celebrations.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    612
    214
    86
    44
See reviews for
341
846
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Not a bad hotel. Staff are friendly and the room I got was nice (if a little cold when I first walked in). The gym is decent, a decent selection of weights, a few weight machines, a smith machine, cardio options and even some classes. The only dowside is the hours are 7-8.45 so if you tend to work out late/early it can be an issue.

The downside with the hotel was probably (well, hopefully a one off) but the fire alarm went of a few times in the night, at around 1am. When I went to investigate I was told it was false alarm but as a previous reviewer has mentioned there was no kind of apology which seems odd. Parking is a bit hit and miss, I couldn't get into the garage once during the week I stayed. Also entry to the garage isn't via key card but relies on the reception seeing you on the cctv and letting you in which is a tad retro. There is however public parking nearby.

The food was fine, though one order of steak didn't arrive in the form I had requested but I was able to live with it. Essentially it won't blow your mind but is a nice enough place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Jules T,

Thank you for taking the time to review the City Hotel, We are glad you found the staff friendly and our rooms to your taste, we do advise residents we have limited parking of 45 secure underground spaces available free of charge and we do also offer our residents discounted car parking next door to the hotel in the multi-storey at a very reasonable rate. We understand your inconvenience being wakened by the fire alarm, we take the safety of our guests very seriously and investigate every occurrence we do however appreciate your comments and certainly will take your feedback on board.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and generally like it but this time was rough.

The fire alarm was faulty and went off three separate times during the night. There was no explanation or apology from the hotel (a note under the door for example?). Then workers started jack-hammering outside the window while it was still dark. All this on top of west coast jet lag...not good.

I paid for a deluxe room (which is normally worth the money) but they didn't refresh my water or candy bars and didn't provide any soap or wash-cloths. The gym needs a good clean too plus some maintenance of the weight machines - it's all a little sloppy.

There's normally a lot to like about this place but not on this visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeavingOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear LeavingOrangeCo,

We are pleased to hear that you are a regular customer and greatly appreciate your custom
We do understand the inconvenience of a fire alarm if it disturbed your rest; the safety of our guests is paramount and we investigate every instance
At the time of your last visit there were some essential road works beyond our control to develop the riverside which I hope you will benefit from on your next visit.
I will be investigating and thank you for the feedback you have expressed and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Got a deal for this package through our home insurance. Great value. Room was clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit below part. The one dinner we had was a bit above average. Would use this hotel again.
Hotel was busy, had a good lively buzz to it. Live music in the foyer/ bar.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpundyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear bpundyke,
Thankyou for your review we are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us, it may interest you to know we have various offers if you would like to stay again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spent the weekend in Derry for some relaxation, dinner and shopping with my partner. As far as the hotel goes it was pretty decent- nothing to get excited about but exactly what we were looking for: a great location and a comfy bed to lay our heads when the booze had got the better of us.

Rooms are quite spacious and we had a nice view of the river where it was nice to watch people come and go. The steam room and jacuzzi was very nice to return to after coming in from the snow on the Saturday. We also had quite a decent sized fridge in the room which was very handy.

Some other reviewers have mentioned the 'disinterested staff' and I would have to agree with them. Not to say that the staff were rude or anything- just lethargic in their approach and unenthusiastic.

Location, though, was superb- not too far away from anything- shops, bars, restaurants, sights...you name it.

I keep rethinking my rating as I may be being a touch harsh by giving it 3, but in the end nothing really stood out for me. I wouldn't dissuade anyone from booking in here but dont expect to be overawed by quality service. It's struck me as a hotel which is going through the motions with a lack of character and personality.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilygonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear kilygonz,
Thank you for your review, we do hope you choose to make a return visit where i'm sure you will be pleasantly surprized by our customer service and recent great reviews.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.5 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.2 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): $135 - $291
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Otel, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing