We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great but too many things weren't good...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
BELFAST
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could have been great but too many things weren't good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I stayed a few weeks back, it was a sunny day and the gardens and hotel looked stunning. The check-in staff were pleasant and as our key was being located my wife and I were whispering 'why haven't we heard of this place before?' The reasons why we hadn't heard of the hotel before we needed somewhere in Derry became clear fairly quickly. Shaving light out in ensuite, two large ornaments in room are actually lamps with the light fixtures cut off, the king size bed is two singes pushed together, the 'library' is a weird room with a musty smell and very few books, breakfast was an absolute shambles with no bacon / potato bread / fried egg and the coffee arrived 30 mins after arriving in the breakfast room. Having paid 120 for the night I expected a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    134
    56
    31
    19
See reviews for
128
358
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We took the opportunity of a late deal at Easter. The room was a lovely but somewhat tired- eg hook on the back of door not screwed on properly, shaving mirror light not working, towel ring broken.However, it was comfortable and adequate. On the landing outside our room the roof was leaking, and a bucket was catching the drips!! Hardly what you expect!
The choice at dinner ( one meal included in deal ) was very limited- with only 3 starters, mains and desserts. However, what we ordered was quite delicious and well served.
The grounds were very attractive and our dog was made very welcome. The staff were all very friendly.
It was a good break, and we would return- but only on a deal.
Note that despite what it says on some sites- there is no leisure suite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Food is five star and I'm extremely picky. I went here for as a birthday treat and was treated like royalty. I got three courses for £20, which for what I got was great value. The soup was seasoned so well I didn't need salt or pepper. The fish, some of the best I've had, the chocolate pudding divine. I'm a real foodie and I've eaten in so many places. This was a memorable experience. I did not stay over but would consider it. Staff were so attentive but not in your face.

Room Tip: If you go early in the evening the restaurant is quieter and really peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is hard to beat but the afternoon teas are to die for. Just don't plan any exercise afterwards or book an early dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were treated like 'royalty' by a friendly, efficient staff. My mother Ivy who is 84 received the upmost attention to all of her needs and she was delighted with the caring approach of the owner Patsy O' Kane. Patsy has spent a number of years working in elder-care and is brilliant in her dealings with senior citizens. We stayed in room 52 on the ground floor and it was perfect. The US Marines stayed in this house in WW2 and there is a living room with warm open fire dedicated to them - the memorabila includes the 1942 Christmas Dinner menu in the officers mess. Our evening meal, served in a magnificent dining room, was sublime and Philipino waitor who served us was a credit. Most interesting of all was the fact that this Country House has played host to both Bill Clinton and John Kerry - Patsy has pictures to prove it. This hotel was great experience for both my mother and I. Patsy has taken enormous pains to make this one of the nicest places to visit in Ireland. Dont miss it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.4 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.6 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
1.7 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): $137 - $235
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, LateRooms, Wotif.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing