We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Hill Farm

The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Sunny South facing aspect for the Living room and kitchen/dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Sunny South facing aspect for the Living room and kitchen/dining area.
Fully equipped modern kitchen.
The modern and fully equipped kitchen.
Plenty of secure private parking spaces available beside the cottage.
The drive up to the cottage, with the view towards Dundrum bay.
The cottage is surrounded by dry stone walls.
The view of Slieve Meelmore from outside the Living room.
The open plan living/kitchen/dining room with solid wood flooring and views out towards the mountains
The dining area.
The downstairs twin bedroom complete with ensuite.
The upstairs master bedroom complete with ensuite and walk in wardrobe.
A 4 Star Tourism Northern Ireland approved cottage.
The master bedroom ensuite.
Twin bedroom ensuite.
Twin bedroom shower.
Main bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thereares...
Ballymacarbry
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A beautiful property located in a most scenic area. Peaceful and relaxing. Short drive to beach. Fabulous mountain walks. Stayed a weekend, wish we had longer :(. Property itself had everything we needed. Neil made us most welcome. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Tannum Sands, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mournes on your doorstep”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed twice at Gorse Hill farm and both times were outstanding. Well equipped kitchen and very comfortable. The views are amazing and the walks are a challenge but very rewarding. You can do as much or as little as you want. Hopefully not our last visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2018
Thanks Helen for taking the time to review your stay. I’m very happy you once again enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kori R
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Northern Ireland ”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed there quite a while ago but we still talk about it and plan on returning this fall (hopefully it’s available!) Most gracious hosts with donkeys and chickens and an adorable dog named Bella. Fresh eggs in the refrigerator and the most spectacular views. Clean and bright and modern and fabulous. Can not wait to return. We’ll never stay anywhere else in Newcastle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Gorse Hill Farm. It was a pleasure to welcome you for your stay and I’m delighted that you enjoyed it and are planning on returning. It will be great to welcome you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthhuddl...
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A perfect family cottage!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The first thing that struck me about this cottage was the view. It filled up the windows and I spent all my indoor time looking out! Inside was also immaculate and cosy. Kitchen superbly equipped and plenty of bathrooms for everyone! The chickens, cats, dogs, donkeys and owners are all really friendly and I can't think of a better place to stay.
The nearest mourne walks start on the trassey track just down the next road and are perfect for beginners and seasoned walkers, tollymore is a short drive away and other great places are all within easy reach. Entire family wants to stay here again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thanks very much Ruth for taking the time to review your stay here at Gorse Hill Farm. We are really pleased that you all had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fay_W50
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful and we will be back!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage had everything you could need for a weekend away! Warm, comfortable and just brilliant! Can't recommend highly enough! Location is brilliant and Cagney and Lacey great neighbours!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Hi Fay, thank you for reviewing your stay. We are delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in future. Many thanks, Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing