We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy days”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
E3467FVan...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy days”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful warm and cozy cottage oozing character. Has all you need as a base for an active holiday.....warmth, good shower, comfortable bed and nice garden to sit out in , when the sun shines. We soon realized that the poor TV reception was a blessing in disguise.
Tolllymore, Castlewellan and lots of other walks literally at your doorstep. Maghera pub was a handy local eating place...just a pity it was not in walking distance.

Dogs loved being able to meet the local dogs at the gate as they headed into the park for their walks, and of course had many wonderful walks themselves.
Wonderful days !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Courtney...
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely mini-break for wedding in the Tollymore forest! Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Gate Lodge is a gem and we were lucky to find it when looking for places to stay whilst attending our friends' wedding (which happened to be taking place in the Tollymore forest!). We'd waited too late to book a room and all the B n Bs were all booked up and the few rooms left at some of the resorts were over-priced. We stumbled upon The Gate Lodge on tripadvisor and we new instantly that we were on to a winner. We booked it straightaway and at a very reasonable cost for an entire cottage. The place was exactly as described - tidy and quaint with lots of olde world charm. And right on the doorstep of the beautiful Tollymore forest and Mourne mountain range! We're keen walkers and were hoping to get in a few walks before or after the wedding. We got in a short walk along the river on our first day, but sadly my husband came down with a nasty cold which kept us indoors during a lot of our 3 day visit. We honestly did not mind. The Gate Lodge was nice and cozy and we managed to take a few short drives around the various scenic routes nearby. All in all we got what we paid for - a clean, cozy and warm cottage in the foothills of some very beautiful scenery nearest to a fantastic wedding event we'd been invited to attend. We will definitely be back soon for some walking adventures and we'll definitely be staying at The Gate Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Coleraine N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A real gem in a perfect setting"”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband. Our daughter and family were also able to come for one night. We have had many holidays in Tollymore Forest Park both camping and caravanning, but it was a real treat to be here and have all the comforts of home as well. The cottage has two large bedrooms with kingsize beds, well equipped kitchen ,fast emmersion heater for shower and washing up and oil heating which we used for a quick burst of heat in the evening. If you have never been to Tollymore, do go. You'll be smitten as I was over 40 years ago, and this cottage is the perfect place for your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing