We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great wee cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lorna e
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great wee cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed a week ,and loved the cottage inside the gates of Tollymore Forest Park. We had our dog with us which had a great time in the river a walks. The cottage has a run and kennel down the back. We will book again . The views of the mountain every morning. Great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Glad the dog enjoyed it :) - it really is a gem of a place - looking forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful cottage with everything you need and more”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We can't speak highly enough about the whole experience. High standards throughout . Slight hiccup with heating rectified immediately. Location is beautiful with easy access to all amenities.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Sorry about the heating hiccup and glad we could sort it out straight away. Thanks for your understanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomtomsur...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in awe-inspiring location”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Clean, cosy, warm accommodation, comfortably furnished with many inviting, personal touches. Located just inside Tollymore Forest Park with its numerous walking trails through this magical kingdom. Glorious views of the mountains of Mourne and within 5 minutes drive of the sea, shops, pubs & restaurants at Newcastle. The local people are especially welcoming. I recommend crossing the Irish Sea to discover the hidden gems of Northern Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Internet access was weak & intermittent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSBea...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Return Visit - As good as the first time!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Back again following a previous visit in June 2014. Can not recommend highly enough, excellent location for walks and exploring the surrounding area. Our Beagle Bobby settled back into the gate lodge as if it was his second home. Everything you could ask for in the accommodation.
I would suggest you find a new hiding place for your Toblerones though as they were quickly sniffed out by Bobby lol - they were untouched and moved to safety, before a midnight feast was had!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Glad you found it comfortable - we have tried to make it a place we want to stay in ourselves - though it's so busy, we seldom get the chance :) Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather19...
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were lucky enough to find Tollymore online and stayed for one week.The cottage was lovely,it was decorated with alot of thought that added to the character of the building.I was a little worried that it might of been a bit cold due to the age of the cottage but it was really cosy and the fire was easy to light,The location was ideal next to the forest park and we enjoyed our walks every morning before touring the county in the afternoons.The cottage is ideally located to visit nearby beaches,parks and shops.I cant wait to return for another stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The characterof the house
Liked least: Nothing,but a pub in walking distance would have been nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
And we would love to have you. Glad you appreciated the decor - we tried to make it homely and comfortable and I think we've succeeded. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing