We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food in a time warp”
Review of Denvir's

Denvir's
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Downpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Denvir's is an old Coaching Inn dating from 1642. It is full of old world charm and is popular with both tourists and locals, so you will enjoy a real County Down welcome and fit right into the community. Food is served all day from breakfast through to dinner, and there is entertainment 5 nights per week from Wednesday to Sunday. Groups can be catered for in either of the restaurants, and management are happy to tailor packages to ensure full enjoyment. And finally, there are 6 bedrooms to let. So, forget about going home. Have a nice meal, enjoy the entertainment, a good rest, and then in the morning, enjoy some of the local historic sites such as St. Patrick's grave which are only a stone's throw from the Inn.
Reviewed 19 October 2018

As I arrived lateish at the hotel I decided to eat here rather than look for a decent restaurant, how pleased was I. The menu choice was very good, the food was beautifully cooked and the portions were not small. Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank neila207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Hi Neil,
Thank you so much for the kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal with us. As you've discovered, because we're small, local, and part of the community since 1642, we do a bit of everything, bar, restaurant, entertainment, and accommodation. We try to be as good as we can in all areas.
Hopefully we'll see you again soon,
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Denvir’s is soaked in history and the restaurant is no exception. The dining room reflects old world charm and atmosphere with its 17th century fireplace and often an open fire. There’s a lovely ambience to the restaurant.

My wife and I discovered the delights of Denvir’s a few months back. It’s now one of our favorite local restaurants that we visit on a regular basis. There’s a great selection on the menu to suit everyone - a mix of Irish traditional and modern cuisine - all very tasty and perfectly cooked to your liking. Previous reviews complain of small portion size, I disagree - you can expect large Irish servings! There’s also a good selection of well priced wine.

The staff are always friendly, helpful and professional. Especially Aabheann, the manager, nothing is ever a problem! All have a great knowledge of the menu and are happy to ‘tweak’ an order to suit personal taste.

If you’re reading this review - you should book a table - you’ll definitely not be disappointed. 10/10

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MrGreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hi MrGreview,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are delighted that Denvir's has become one of your favourite places to dine and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Four of us had dinner recently .
The staff were friendly but the service was extremely slow, 40 minutes before we received our starter !
Long waits between each course and to be perfectly honest the food was very average .
Vegetable and roast potato portions with the main course were stingy.
The place wasn't overly busy and we weren't the only people getting a bit fed up .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Hi 2020vision,
And let me begin by saying that we are so sorry that your visit to Denvir's was just ok. This is really disappointing to us as most of our reviews are very positive as you no doubt have seen,
I am presuming from the pictures of the Sunday roast attached to your review that you were in on Sunday, and that the major issue was the delay. The truth is that we did have a hitch with the service on Sunday in that, for some reason, our tills "stopped talking" to our printer in the kitchen, hence, orders weren't getting to the chefs. It was a while before the issue became apparent, and a while before we caught up, but, someone should have explained this to you. Waiting can be frustrating, particularly when you don't know why, so, sincere apologies on this score.
Regarding your other comments about the food, looking again at your photographs, I'm afraid I find it hard to agree with you. To be honest, your photos are good enough for us to use as promotional material. The food looks good, and the portions look more than ample. Perhaps the long wait has jaundiced your overall view, that would be more than understandable.
So to conclude, sincere apologies again about the wait, you should have been made aware of our problems, it was due perhaps to a lack of experience that you weren't, but we have addressed this. Hopefully you can forgive us on this occasion and perhaps visit us again in the future to enjoy a problem free service.
In the meantime, take care,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

A beautiful old historic building which needs some TLC.. please please clean clean clean! Attended a party here recently just disappointed in the standard of cleanliness!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank gemmfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi gemmfitt,
We are surprised by your review. We are an old building, as you suggest, but one which receives a lot of tlc. We employ our own cleaners and all staff have cleaning duties as well, hence the surprise.
We will be talking with all staff, but it's difficult when we have no specific details.
Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Made the trip down again to Denvir’s to avail of their superb Sunday Lunch.

On arrival we sat in the main bar area but due to a few families in with noisy kids we decided to move on and find somewhere else.
But to the managers credit they found the 3 of us a table in the back restaurant which was much less noisy.

Two of us had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding & other had the roast chicken.
All washed down with a few pints of Magners and some Sparkling water for the driver.

Again fantastic food, and credit to the manager going out of his way to get us a more pleasant seating area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MarkBFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoratioGroup, Owner at Denvir's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Hi Mark,
Thank you so much, again, for such a kind review. We're so pleased that you enjoy Denvir's, and hopefully we'll see you again soon,
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denvir's also viewed

Downpatrick, County Down
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Denvir's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing