We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
numptygir...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely week in this delightful cottage. April and Neil were splendid hosts and have created a gem of a cottage in the Bothy. It is in a peaceful setting but very handy for the Causeway Coast and all that it has to offer. The beds and bedding deserve special mention, of a very high standard and extremely comfortable. The welcoming scones were delicious and we took the opportunity to light the wood burner a couple of times, just took the evening chill off the air and made the living room even cosier. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words and we are always very happy to have feed back,especially when we hear that our guests have had a peaceful and relaxing time.
Comfortable beds are of the utmost importance, they really do make a difference to the success of a holiday, so I am delighted to learn that you approve of our choice!
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself, my wife and our two boys (aged 2 & 4) stayed here for a week – it was excellent in every way. We received a very warm welcome from the owner April who went way above the levels of care and attention you would expect from a self catering supplier. We where greeting to fresh scones and home made bread which was amazing (thank you). The house itself is stunning, the photos although excellent don't do it justice – it has been restored with love and an attention to detail that is a real credit to April and Neil, very warm and comfortable – we where able to make ourself at home straight away. The kids loved the forested meadow out back – April had left them toys (again thank you). Its the perfect spot to explore the north.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
What can I say except a huge thank you for your kind words about The Bothy.
We are so pleased you had a lovely holiday and that The Bothy came up trumps!
It was lovely meeting you all and we hope to see you again soon.
Warmest regards from us both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuel m
Hondon de los Frailes, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The bothy was everything we expected it to be and more. We arrived on a cold wet windy day to be met by the owner. When we entered the cottage we were met with a warming log fire. The table was set with fresh baked bread , scones and Jam. It is perfactly situated for visiting all the tourist attractions in the area. The back garden which was for our use was a bird watchers paradise. The only down side was we only had a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thrilled that the Bothy was everything you expected and more and that you had a lovely time.
Do hope we will see you again!

Warmest regards from us both,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolaineAw...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“The perfect home away from home!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at The Bothy for two weeks in June with our small boys and it was wonderful. April and Neil were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and more to make our stay very comfortable. The cottage was super cozy and clean. The beds were super comfortable and we all had wonderful sleeps while there. We couldn't have asked for a better, more lovely place to come home to every evening after a day of sight seeing. I would definitely recommend The Bothy to anyone.
Thank you again April and Neil!! We have spoken often of The Bothy and will always remember fondly the hospitality you showed us while we were visiting.
PS - The homemade scones and the lit fireplace was such a wonderfully warm welcome after our very long, long journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, cozy, and quiet.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your super review and we are always pleased and relieved to hear that our guests have had a lovely time and have returned home with fond memories of their stay at The Bothy.
It was lovely meeting you all and if you return to this part of the world please come and stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barossaba...
Tanunda
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Only had 2 nights here but could have stayed a month. Best bed we had on a 3 week trip, the owner was so friendly and helpful, and the cottage has everything you would need. Don't need to say much more really, if you get the chance just book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home made scones
Liked least: The lounge was a bit hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Please come back again soon!
We love to hear such positive feedback, thank you so much.

Warmest regards from us both,

April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing