We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely flawless... the perfect idyl!”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KMMul
Newbridge, Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless... the perfect idyl!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my sister spent two nights in this beautiful cottage and did not want to leave! As soon as we turned in the driveway we were in love with the place. I cannot recommend this little bolthole enough. It is a peaceful getaway with all of the stunning Antrim tourist spots on your doorstep. The cottage was cosy and tastefully decorated with top quality facilities.. everything was thought of from home baked scones and fire lighting on arrival to the basics in the fridge for a convenient stay. Thank you April and Neil for a wonderful stay in your beautiful bothy, it is just stunning I just wish we could have stayed for longer - next time hopefully!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Bothy.
I can't begin to tell you how much pleasure it gives us to hear that our guests have had a peaceful and relaxing stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian k
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Escape!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage, warm and welcoming.
A very comfortable bed from which one can watch the birds feeding in the garden.
Ideal location for the Antrim Coast.
Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you for your most kind words and relieved to hear that you found the bed comfortable which is so important as it either makes or breaks a holiday! The birds are a joy to watch and I keep meaning to put some binoculars in the Bothy so thank you for reminding me!
Do hope you will visit again.
Warmest regards
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna1008...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MISSION ACCOMPLISHED”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to spend a couple of days in a peaceful, quiet, relaxing, comfortable and cosy environment. The Bothy provided all of this; from the moment we were met by April we felt we had made the right choice. The Bothy is a typical, tastefully decorated country cottage, it has all the modern amenities you would expect ; dishwasher, power shower, T.V, DVD player (good selection of modern DVDS) beds are extremely comfortable with great pillows and duvets. The 2 singles can be zip and locked to make a super king. Plentiful supply of peat and sticks for the wood burning stove. Kitchen has all the contents of your home larder and the home made bread, scones, jam and marmalade are an extra bonus, made and provided by April (nice touch). There is a wealth of information on local tourist attractions and places to eat out.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope to rebook again as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness, the location and amenities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
We are so thrilled that you found our little cottage so comfortable and peaceful and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards from us both,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Had the most relaxing and calming break at the Bothy for 2 nights.
April is a wonderfully welcoming host, the home-made scones, bread and conserve were a real treat and the exquisitely appointed cottage is decorated tastefully, fitted out with a top notch bathroom and kitchen mean cooking in the cottage is a breeze and cleaning up after a muddy walk in nearby forest or coastline is a delight. Evenings were spent in front of the cosy fire with one of the plentiful movies or boardgames supplied and a long night's sleep easily turned into a lazy lie in, due to real quality bedding.
Can't wait to return and would recommend for couples, families, friends and everyone in between.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
We await guests reviews with nervous anticipation and it means so much to us that people enjoy staying in our little cottage.
Warmest regards
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter j
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Bothy”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the Bothy for 1 week during July 14. Very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. April and Neil have spent time and effort making everything just right, their attention to detail makes this property stand out from others.
We received a warm and friendly welcome which helped us to settle in quickly.
Great location easily accessible to all the sights and attractions of the north coast.
Kids (3and 6) are still talking about the brilliant holiday in the Bothy.
Big effort to return next summer, work permitting

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and location
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and that the children were also happy.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you again

Warmest regards.
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing