We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable trip.”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sandra837
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable trip.”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home ,from a delightful and relaxing week staying at The Bothy I cannot praise it enough.There were tea and scones made for us on our arrival. The decoration and furnishing were fantastic..The bed and bed linen were so soft it was hard to get up in the morning .It was so quiet surrounded by fields and yet four miles away you were in Ballycastle a lovely harbour town. Twelve miles away and you are at the Giants Causeway.We saw dolphins of the shore at Carnlough and outstanding views along the Antrim Coast road .So a very big thankyou to April and Neil for making our stay so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of calm and. Quiet.l
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Firstly I would just like to say a huge thank you for leaving The Bothy so clean and tidy also for stripping the bed ,such a kind thought and much appreciated.
It is always such a joy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay in The Bothy and found the beds and bedding so comfy.
It was lovely meeting you and we hope you will come back again and explore more of the beautiful coastline.

Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and peaceful - superb!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If I could find a fault it would be this: it is so quiet and comfortable, we woke up late every day! This lovely cottage is tastefully decorated and furnished in understated colours, with flowers in every room and all mod cons, including WiFi. April greeted us with tea, homemade scones, wheaten bread and raspberry jam and had left tea, coffee, milk, sugar, eggs and homemade marmalade in the well-equipped kitchen and replaced the linen, numerous towels and toiletries at the beginning of the second week along with more homemade comestibles. There are plenty of boardgames, books and DVDs (including new releases) for all ages, should you wish to hide away from the rain. There is a pleasant, inclined garden at the back, with a table and benches ideally placed to watch the numerous twits and finches who visit the bird table. Ballycastle is nearby for petrol garages (Spar is the cheapest), cafes and Supermarkets, greengrocers, butchers, etc. A ferry to Rathlin Island operates several times a day from there, but booking is advisable. The cottage is located near the north east coast and so is a good base from which to explore the Causeway Coast, Antrim Glens and forest parks, whether by car, walking or cycling, yet is within comfortable travelling distance of Belfast, to visit the Titanic Quarter for instance, and beyond (the Ulster Folk Park and the Transport Museum are worth a visit). White Park Bay is a beautiful beach (shared with cows) but is unsafe for swimming and surfing. Nearby bathing beaches are at Ballycastle, Cushendall and Whitefoot. The landscape is marvellous and changes at every bend or shift of light. Oh, and sshh, the spell-binding Dark Hedges are just a stone's throw away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Delighted you found The Bothy so quiet and comfortable.
Thank you for your kind and helpful review.
Kind regards
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccampbell...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was as little gem hidden in northern Ireland. The hostess couldn't have been more helpful. Arriving to tea and scones just made this stay special. The area the cottage was in was very convenient for exploring the north coast and was only a hours drive from belfast. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Fantastic news to hear you had a lovely time and that you will definitely be back again,we look forward to it very much.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbo65
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely very charming and comfortable cottage with a very warm welcome by April.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is charming, tastefully decorated and kitted out with everything you could expect. t
The location is quiet and rural. The proprietor, April, was very welcoming with various goodies to greet us. The back woodland garden is pleasant, and watching the birds on the feeders was a delight. The area is well worth exploring, including Rathlin Island, the Giant's Causeway and 'the Dark Hedges all within a half an hour's journey away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and small caring touches in the cottage.
Liked least: Not enough places for putting towels. (small criticism in the light of all the positives)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2014
We are so pleased you found the Bothy so comfortable and charming but also enjoyed exploring the coast.
Thank you for your most helpful comment about the towel storage which is now in hand!
Hope to see you all again sometime.

Kindest regards,

April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I booked The Bothy for the bank holiday weekend and we were both extremely pleased that we did. Upon arrival, we both agreed that the pictures online did not actually do the cottage justice! It was just perfect, idyllic in fact.
We were greeted with tea, scones and fresh wheaten bread upon entering the cottage. The fridge had butter and milk a lovely bottle of wine and card from the owner Neil. All the little touches that you appreciate. This for us set the scene for the rest of the weekend.
After having a quick look around, we were utterly delighted! The cottage is finished to a very high end, with subtle touches everywhere. The cottage is immaculately clean, well finished, but to an extent that you actually feel relaxed.
We settled in on fri evening to a log fire and fish and chips. Dined out on Sat & Sun!
I have to say we stay in a lot of cottages within Northern Ireland, and Ireland and travel quite a bit worldwide, and to date this is the best self catering cottage we have had the pleasure of staying in. We were after a relaxed quick get-away from the daily hectic life in Belfast and this fitted the brief! We will be back and have already looked at summer dates online! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cottage is super picturesque!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
I am so happy to hear that you found The Bothy 'utterly delightful 'and that you were able to fully relax. I cant begin to tell you how thrilled we are to hear this and thank you so much for your lovely review.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing