We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding decadence and well worth the treat...”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding decadence and well worth the treat...”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I have stayed here twice over the past 12 months and we have loved it each time.

There are two types of room and we’ve been lucky to stay in one of the older type rooms and one of the newer art deco styles rooms and they are both excellent but we would have to give the ‘win’ to the newer art deco styled rooms.

The art deco room was huge with a massive luxury bed, 2 piece suite and flatscreen TV area and a huge bathroom with a walk in shower (with accompanying marble bench!) and huge bath.

I’m aware that I’m using the word ‘huge’ an awful lot but that’s simply because it was.
My girlfriend loved it even more because it had an old style actress make up/vanity area that was lit up by surrounding bulbs around the mirror.

And the wardrobes? Yep, you’ve guessed it – huge.

The older style original rooms are beautifully decorated and have a more 19th Century feeling and we loved it as well but it was smaller and didn’t feel quite as decadent or luxurious.

Ironically, the older style room cost more than the art deco styles room to stay in for the night.

The outside hot tub area is brilliant with a great view but I couldn’t tell you what the gym was like because we didn’t visit the gym; we were treating ourselves and didn’t want to ruin it by looking at people that refuse to ‘switch off’ when they’re away for the night and instead of going out and enjoying themselves, prefer to spend it on a treadmill.

The hotel bar is amazing – the amount of cocktails on offer will please anyone and yes, they are expensive but you get free nibbles all night and table service, you’re never left looking around to get someone’s attention to order a drink. The cocktails themselves are fantastic and really well made.

The jazz bar, Bert’s, is again very nice and rather than relaxing like the hotel bar, is more about chilling out and having some fun – again, expensive but you get what you pay for so it’s worth it.

But what makes a 5* Hotel a 5* star hotel? That’s right – the service.

A room could be the best room in the world but without staff delivering a quality service, it’s ruined.

Luckily the staff in the Merchant are outstanding and are trained to an excellent level of customer service and we couldn’t have asked to be treated better on both occasions that we stayed.

They were friendly, attentive and took an interest.

On one occasion in the hotel bar, one of our cocktails was around 8 minutes in arriving due to the bar being busy and there was no charge for it – don’t know if this is a rule for paying guests but we tried moving seats to fool them again but it didn’t work!

We didn’t eat in the hotel so can’t comment on the food I’m afraid and we didn’t eat there simply because there are 5 or 6 top quality places to eat surrounding the hotel and plenty of bars.

Overall, for a treat and something with a touch of class we can’t think of anywhere better in Belfast or the surrounding area and it will remain one of our favourite places.

Hope this helps give you guys a bit more information about the place – my girlfriend posted a review as well and posted up the pics we took so won’t bother reposting these.

Thanks,

Room Tip: - The newer art deco style rooms are bigger than the older original rooms - The older original ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,840
    292
    138
    85
    61
See reviews for
319
1,332
52
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Treated here for Valentines Day in the Cocktail Bar ...wonderful service cocktails ....everything What an experience!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

went for a meal in the merchant last night, starter: £10 - scallops, 3 tiny scallops luke warm at best - very poor; main course: £28.50 - beef fillet, could have been frying steak from asda, weighed approx 4oz. paid the bill (£520 between 9 people) - the waitress counted the money at the table and even checked a few of the notes. it was a disgrace. the food was ridiculously poor, the waitress was ignorant and the bill was outrageous. 9 customers who will never be back, a bad stink carries far.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ciaran f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My party of four were in Belfast for the first time and had consulted Tripadvisor on places to visit and to eat (two of the four are professional chefs so places to eat are important). The Merchant Hotel seemed to rate as a place just for cocktails so we visited the bar on Monday afternoon - it is FANTASTIC! The ambiance, the service, the choice, everything a great cocktail bar should be. We saw the restaurant menu and very quickly decided we wanted lunch next day. We were not disappointed! Again; ambiance, service, choice and quality were all totally top notch.
It isn't cheap but you know the saying; "you get what you pay for" .. it sure is value for money. We hope to return to Belfast and definitely want to stay at The Merchant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We travel extensively - nearly 250 days a year - and this is one of the (if not THE) very nicest places we've stayed. EVER. It's that nice.

We splurged and stayed in the CS Lewis Suite (just do it - you only live once - your spouse will be thrilled beyond belief : - ) and extended it from two nights to four. If we could afford it, we'd just move in.

Yes, it was expensive, but you'll be treated like Hollywood elite with impeccable turn-down service, bottled waters every day (real glass bottles accompanied by tall drinking glasses), bedside chocolates every evening, tea and coffee service, etc. The suite we stayed in is Victorian with beautiful fabric wall coverings, a separate living room with gas fireplace and sumptuous down-filled furnishings, elegant paintings and ornately framed mirrors, 18' high ceilings (perhaps higher), floor to ceiling draperies - right out of Architectural Digest Magazine. The separate bedroom includes a king-sized bed with luxurious linens, and the large bathroom includes a rain shower, heated towel rack, and a decorated tile floor. Breakfast can be included (do it!) and it's delicious. The entire hotel - including the staff - is as good as it gets. And that's coming from a very picky set of travelers. We'd be surprised if there was a nicer hotel - not just in Northern Ireland, but in the entire United Kingdom.

The location is also excellent. Located in the heart of downtown Belfast, (a terrific city) the hotel is a three-minute walk to the primary retail district, close to the new MAC (Metropolitan Arts Centre), the Cathedral, and close to dozens of restaurants.

Parking is valet only, and the concierge service is excellent. Every single employee knows what it takes to make sure guests have a great time, and they deliver.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price range (per night): $303 - $584
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing