We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but uncomfortable matress”
Review of Queen's Elms

Queen's Elms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Elms
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The room was clean, the staff were nice and helpful and the wifi connection is very good. But the mattress was one of those ‘wipe clean’ ones with protruding bed springs that dig into your back all night. After I mentioned the protruding springs they did provide an extra duvet (without a cover on it), as extra padding. The heating was also on in August which made the room too warm. You might find yourself staying here because you are on a course or an academic conference. Mattress and over-heating aside, it is probably a reasonable budget option.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KelwayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Queen's Elms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

I just found everything perfect! Clean compact room, cooked breakfast and above all friendly and helpful staff. Many thanks for this great stay! The place is also very secured and offers a 24/24 check-in desk. Highly recommended for people travelling in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteJ762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

My elderly mother and myself traveled from the south ( starting at cork city ) to the north of Ireland , every aspect of our trip was completely wonderful. Irish hospitality is alive and well on the Island of Ireland. However, that all firmly stops at the queens elms.

The setting is leafy and suburban which is I guess ok but the staff had the ability to sour our whole trip. We had booked and paid in advance but were told we were " stupid " to assume this meant that this guaranteed our booking and we would have to pay them again despite having a statement and a receipt. When we finally managed to establish that they were incorrect and we were not "stupid" we were given our room details by staff who appeared disgusted with us and when my poor mother didn't understand the directions to the room she was treated like an annoying child.

These people need training or firing

Avoid avoid avoid

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank jsatlanta143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

These are uni halls of residence, newly built, and very clean and smart. Located in the posh residential bit of Belfast. I traveled on my own on business and it was perfect for my needs. Cooked breakfast every morning. Small supermarket on site. Lovely friendly staff on reception 24hrs. Would definitely stay here again if traveling alone (not sure if they cater for couples?)

+ Spotlessly clean, functional, secure, helpful friendly staff, nice area, wifi in room, on the main bus route into town (which is only about a half hour walk away anyway)

- No luxury (come on, you wouldn't expect luxury at this price!), unfortunate noise pollution from neighbouring room (I heard all his phone calls, snoring, bottom burps...)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

very friendly and welcoming. room fine, clean.

Breakfast although included, was appalling. The Treehouse was so full of trays with leftovers , i had to empty one to use one. It was a mess and not once whilst I was there was any cleaning done.

Cereals, was empty and no milk. 2 guys in kitchen seemed more interested in making their fags up for the day.
Coffee was the worst i've ever had in my life and disgusting.
Breakfast had the worst scrambled eggs, ive ever tasted too, vile vile, how can you get that wrong. I don't eat meat so cant comment on bacon or sausages. but seeing how much people had left. I dont think anything on offer today was popular.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,369 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Hotel
#37 of 44 in Belfast
340 reviews
Wellington Park Hotel
#33 of 44 in Belfast
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Belfast

Been to Queen's Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Elms

Address: Queens Elms 78 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 5BW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $64 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen's Elms 2*
Number of rooms: 1032
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Queen's Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Elms Belfast
Queen's Elms Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing