We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great People”
Review of Queen's Elms

Queen's Elms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Elms
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Value for money accommodation. Clean. Good location. Safe. Staff were super. Really helpful. Would like to mention - I was late for the buffet breakfast (closes at 10am & my meeting was early morning) - I reached at 10:30am. The staff were having their own breakfast but one of them (a young chap) still got up and served me food. While I settled down with a more than generous (& very tasty) breakfast, another staff member - a lady actually came up to inquire if there was enough for me or not. I was quite touched with this rather random act of kindness and experienced the famous Irish hospitality. Loved it. Strongly recommend them...

Room Tip: Just ask... they are great folks...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaustav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Queen's Elms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Really liked this accommodation. Student place but very clean and modern. Nice, helpful, friendly staff. Really good breakfast included. In a good location too- within walking distance of a few pubs and restaurants and walking into the city centre takes about 30mins or good bus links. Good value. Probably attracts big groups though, so be mindful that it could be noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank calsilver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Last stayed here two years ago whilst volunteering for the World Police Fire Games and really enjoyed my time here. I think Elms is a great place to stay for a big event. Returning for a smaller event it lacked the atmosphere and facilities that were previously available such as the bar and late night opening of the shop. Having said that it does offer reasonably priced accommodation with a small but adequate en suite room. Free basic wi-fi and plent of plugs to charge phones etc. there is also a launderette on site ( but no detergent so bring your own).
The communal kitchen only had very basic equipment such as cutlery and two pans and we waited 4 days to obtain a tea towel. The rooms were serviced every day and were clean. The bed was comfortable and there was hanging space for clothes and suitcases. Elms is situated in a quite part of Belfast and there is 24 hour reception and security so I felt very safe.
Public transport is near offering a train service from Botanics station about 10 mins. walk away and bus stops are very close with a 15 minute journey into the city centre. There is a free phone for the local taxi firm in reception which I used as there is not a bus service in that part of the Malone Road on Sundays.
I didn't book breakfast this time for my stay but did have one and it was nowhere near as good as previously. Having breakfast at Elms in 2013 was amazing and probably the best breakfast ever. However on this trip breakfast was served on site at the Treetops student hub and was an average breakfast.
Found all the staff at Elms very helpful and friendly and know this is an ideal place for a budget trip to Belfast. The local garage almost next to Elms has a small but well stocked shop with long opening hours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are available for those with limited mobility.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaytee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The accommodation is the Halls of residence for Queen's university, so is quite basic, but comfortable, everything that you need for somewhere to lay your head and have a shower in the morning.

Location is very far from city centre in terms of walking, probably over 30mins but Malone Road is a major bus route so transport isn't an issue, good price but there are other options near the city centre which are closer to everything for a price not too much higher.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Purpleknight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014

The price is very nice! The people are confused sometimes, but they are also very nice. You should call to ensure you got your reservation right (I needed to call 3 times to get my confirmation email). The bed and the shower are very small. The breakfast is great!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,369 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmoral Hotel
#37 of 44 in Belfast
340 reviews
Wellington Park Hotel
#33 of 44 in Belfast
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Belfast

Been to Queen's Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Elms

Address: Queens Elms 78 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 5BW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $64 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen's Elms 2*
Number of rooms: 1032
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queen's Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Elms Belfast
Queen's Elms Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing