We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Peace Wall

Peace Wall
Ranked #16 of 191 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Didn't do the taxi tour and wasn't really confident with the safety of this area being that I had heard such horror stories. The wall is surreal and makes me think of how the Berlin Wall must have looked. Many people were getting out of their cabs and "tagging" the wall which I thought was bizarre yet beautiful as the wall is considered a living piece of peaceful art. Must see.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank fantastic_faithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"berlin wall"
in 37 reviews
"barbed wire"
in 10 reviews
"stark reminder"
in 10 reviews
"two sides"
in 9 reviews
"hop on hop off bus"
in 22 reviews
"piece of history"
in 15 reviews
"black cab tour"
in 28 reviews
"street art"
in 12 reviews
"shankill road"
in 10 reviews
"recent history"
in 9 reviews
"eye opening"
in 9 reviews
"northern ireland"
in 22 reviews
"visiting belfast"
in 10 reviews
"graffiti"
in 40 reviews
"division"
in 29 reviews
"communities"
in 38 reviews
"artwork"
in 34 reviews
Filter

183 - 187 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

It almost feels unreal to know that this happened in our life time, the divide between two communities leaves you really feeling how it must have been during the troubles.. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank LausieLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

One of our highlights on our trip to Ireland was learning about the conflict in Northern Ireland and its lasting impact today. This is just one of many interesting items to see on a journey to attempt to better understand the conflict.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We didn't take a tour, but drove up as we were leaving Belfast. I personally find it sad to class the wall as a tourist attraction when it's presence still clearly divides the communities of the area.
I live in hope that one day 'true peace' will be present on the whole island.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

it was a good tour and I found the history very interesting and scary in another way. the only thing is our tour was cut down because of prince harry visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peace Wall also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Peace Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing