We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft Shell Crab”
Review of The Welcome

The Welcome
Reserve with OpenTable
The Welcome is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,198 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1982 by the then Lord Mayor Tom Patton, The Welcome Restaurant is the longest established family run Chinese Restaurant in Northern Ireland.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Visited on 1st November due to Tripadvisor No. 1 rating for Chinese in Belfast and was not disapointed.
Soft shell crab was NOT to die for (stupid expression) but was worth getting injured for.
The main course, The Famous Szechuan, was good but not as memorable.
Restaurant was about half full on a Wednesday night so the ratio of waiters to customers was good and they were attentive but not pushy. Prices were OK for such an upmarket place and I will be back on my next visit.
Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomebelfast, Manager at The Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Biffo47,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant and thanks or giving us the thumbs up for our soft shell crab. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Be sure to visit us the next time you are in Belfast!

Regards,

The Welcome Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

And very welcoming, the staff and food are very nice. The Resturant is very clean with a nice atmosphere. If looking at Chinese cuisine, it is worth considering. You will enjoy the food and friendly staff. I highly recommend it.

1  Thank Winston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomebelfast, Manager at The Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Winston S,

Thanks for the recommendation. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us!

We hope you will come again soon.

Regards,

The Welcome Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Hong Kong style curry beef brisket is authentic-- a place to go whenever I miss this dish! The starter aubergine dish is great too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jooooooooooyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomebelfast, Manager at The Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Jooooooooooyce,

Thanks for the review!

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

The Welcome Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I tried the squid for starters - BEST EVER!! Pinched some Satay sauce off my wife's chicken and that was excellent too.

There were four of us and it four '10 out of 10' for the meal.

As usual, the staff were fantastic and made a great night really special. Thank-you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomebelfast, Manager at The Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear David W,

Thanks for giving us the thumbs up for our food! We loved to have served you!

We hope you can come again soon.

Regards,

The Welcome Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Good selection to be had from the menu & specials. Very enjoyable experience both socially and cuisine. Decor is modern, bright and airy.
Attentive staff - pleasant and courteous.
Will be back again with the family next time.

1  Thank KEVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomebelfast, Manager at The Welcome, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear KEVIN R,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant.

We are very happy you enjoyed our restaurant and giving us a recommendation!

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

The Welcome Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Welcome also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing