We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
746
351
135
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
351
135
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la scala bistro sunday buffet parliament building hastings group hastings hotels porridge rubber duck the general manager city centre lovely hotel executive room business trip restaurant staff afternoon tea scones northern ireland from start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Booked the carvery at the Stormont Hotel as part of the youngest daughter's 40th birthday and Brother in Law's 60th - 5 adults and 2 children. Easter Sunday so expected the restaurant to be busy, tables close together and a relatively limited variety of foodstuffs. WRONG! First thing that met us was a young girl with half a dozen miniature goats at the door and inside her mum had a variety of rabbits - children obviously mesmerised. Into the dining room - would do any wedding proud. Tables beautifully set and plenty of space between them - excellent ambience. Staff immediately in attendance- extremely well turned out and very professional - explained the lay out. Now the really important bit! Soup served- home made potato and leek, then onto starters- too numerous to detail but suffice to say that everyone's taste was catered for. The presentation was superior to some of the cruise ships that we have been on! Main course at the Servery overseen by chef Jay who presented three different joints, all top quality and cooked to perfection. No limit on quantity. All staff behind servery friendly and professional. Desserts are something else - out of this world. I am unable to detail the range of tempting dishes but I did try to sample as many as I could possibly take- for research purposes only! Waiting staff cleared used dishes when finished and attention closely paid to refreshment needs. It was encouraging to see the Hotel Manager keep a close eye on things - especially with 300+ guests.
Whilst this Sunday was a special day in the catering calendar and the Hotel staff clearly give it their all, we were delighted to be told that bar the goats, rabbits etc, the fabulous fare produced is available at a typical Sunday Carvery. Didn't mention the much needed tea and coffee at the end- necessary to sit and just take time out after the other 4 courses!
We will be back-shortly. If you haven't been to the Carvery at the Stormont Hotel, you are really missing out on a gastronomic experience- this I guarantee.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank StephenWaringstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMcNeill, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear StephenWaringstown,

Wow! What an amazing review, we really appreciate all your fantastic feedback and we are so happy this was a great Easter Sunday for you and your family!
I am also delighted that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.
Our Head Chef Jay is very passionate about the offering he makes available every Sunday and will be thrilled with your review.

The atmosphere was superb and the farm animals certainly added to the experience on the day.

Please keep connected with us on social media for upcoming themed Grand Sunday buffets!

Do not hesitate to call us to make a booking anytime.

Warm regards,
James Hickland
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Had lunch here today ! Very good can't recommend this dinning room enough the staff had complete control and never missed a thing ,friendly and very knowledgeable ,bother starter and main course looked and tasted fantastic

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMcNeill, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear John D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us. I am happy to hear that our staff were friendly, knowledgeable and in control you give you a great experience during your lunch with us. This is really one of the things that we try and maintain in our hotel at all times.

Thank you for your recommendation and we are hoping to see you soon!

Kind regards,
James Hickland
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My husband and I had an amazing Christmas Afternoon Tea last December at the Stormont Hotel - best afternoon tea we have ever experienced (and we have done quite a few)! We decided to book in for the Easter Afternoon Tea earlier today and it was, again, totally delicious!! Lovely relaxed atmosphere sitting on the big comfy sofa and, unlike other establishments there is a healthy distance between other tables, so it's not cramped or noisy. The bar staff were so friendly and really helpful - especially the young man who served us. We also loved chatting to Jay!! Thanks Jay for the beautiful food!! A great afternoon! :-) Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jillh20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMcNeill, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear jillh20182018,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experiences with us both from Christmas and at Easter. We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed the atmosphere and the delicious food on offer!

Thank you also for your kind comments about our team members and especially Jay who will be thrilled to hear he made an impact of your great Afternoon Tea experience at the Stormont Hotel.

If your visiting the area again soon, please do not hesitate to call us.

Warm regards,

James Hickland
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This Belfast hotel is excellent value for money for business or pleasure. It scores top marks for service, cleanliness, bedroom, sleep quality and all round peacefulness. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends, colleagues or curious strangers.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMcNeill, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Derek H,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a top quality experience!
We are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel soon.

We really appreciate your recommendation and please keep in touch with us on social media for the latest news and offers!

Warm regards,

James Hickland
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed recently with a work conference and could not fault it. From the friendly check in to the amazing room. All staff we encountered couldn’t have been more helpful. Special mention to Andy, to Jay for putting on some incredible dishes, Anto in the restaurant and all the team on reception who couldn’t have done more for us. Can’t wait for the next visit.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CaolanMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMcNeill, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear CaolanMcDonald,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review of your experience with us.
We are so happy your work conference went so well from check-in to the food and also how helpful all the staff were that you encountered.
I will pass on your special mention of both Andy and Jay who will be thrilled they made such an impact on your experience at the Stormont hotel.

Please do keep connected with us on social media for our latest news and offers.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
James Hickland
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews