We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far the best hostel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vagabonds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vagabonds
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“By far the best hostel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

An amazing hostel in a great location! Incredibly friendly staff (thanks for fixing my glasses Jared!), very clean rooms and ammenities, great night sleep.
A lot better than many hotels I have stayed in and for much less money...

Definitely recommend a stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    87
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
59
132
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Hostel is clean, the staff are friendly, great location, and the breakfast in the morning is perfect, you could not ask for better around Belfast. Vagabonds is a great place to stay and would recommend it to any one. I stayed a Monday and Tuesday night, the place was quite and got a good enough nights sleep on both nights. Showers in the morning were hot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I saw many hostels in my life and this is just in my Top 3.

100% Perfect.

Staff is amazing, they will make you feel like home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed in Vagabond's with a school class in January, and my room was very cold, but the staff made sure I had an electric heater in the room so I could get some heat. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere of the hostel is very nice - you feel like you are let into their home. The location is good, and the staff will also help you book tours. The private is quite small, and there are only showers in the hall, but the atmosphere certainly makes up for this, and everything is clean - unlike another place I once stayed in visiting Belfast. I would not hesitate to use Vagabond's again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
599 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

For 20 pounds per bed per night, I think this hostel is a good value, keeping in mind that it is a hostel and you shouldn't expect much. We got a twin bed private room for this amount. The hostel is very nicely decorated also, the owner is a collector of all sorts of posters, so the walls are very interesting. The owner is actually quite a cool guy, he gave us coupons for free coffee at a newly opened espresso bar near the Belfast City Hall (which was good for cappuccino also, and it was delicious!). He also talked to us and told us of his travels and he started the hostels, and his love of posters. Very cool and genuine guy. There is breakfast included in the price of the room, but it's very basic - toast/jam/cereal - this sort of thing. There is a kitchen where you may cook if you wish. There is internet access you have to pay for, but it's quite reasonable if I remember correctly. Our room was clean and the beds were more comfortable than some other hotels where we stayed at and paid way more for. It was a bit noisy in the mornings for those who like to sleep in as the windows look out to the street. Every floor has a powder room, but the showers are located in the main floor, and the hostel doesn't provide towels (at least not free of charge). There is also a room with billiards and other games. The hostel is in a fairly good location, it's about a 15 min walk from the main bus station. Parking is available for free on the street (after 8 pm one can park for the night with no fees or fines).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabonds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabonds

Property: Vagabonds
Address: 9 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price range (per night): $22 - $73
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vagabonds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabonds Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing