We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic rental - highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CChesh
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic rental - highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with family and we were all really impressed. Capel Cartref is perfect for groups, there were 8 of us and there was plenty of space for all, so nice to have enough seating at the dining table and in the living room for everyone - something you don't always get in properties that sleep larger groups.
The property was spotless when we arrived and fully kitted out with everything we needed for a long weekend away. the location was perfect for day trips, we visited various places including Rhossili Bay, Brecon, Afan Forest park and Dan yr Ogof all of which were easily drivable from the property.
Marnie was a pleasure to deal with, very informative and quick at coming back to messages.
We all had a wonderful stay at Capel Cartref and would recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway in South Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, size of rooms and general quality of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you very much for such an informative review. You were equally a pleasure to deal with and we are glad that you had a nice experience at the chapel. I think the weather you had was changeable but I am gathering you dressed for it and got out to see some lovely places regardless. We hope you come back to stay some day soon, it is always a pleasure to have people return, especially those who look after the chapel. Thank you and kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE TO STAY WITH FAMILY”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

10 of us stayed at Capel Cartref for the weekend to celebrate a very special birthday.
The chapel is a lovely place to stay and it was ideal having such a big lounge for us all to get together and raise a glass. The kitchen / dining area was very large and fully equipped and the 5 bedrooms slept ten in privacy.
There was ample parking space for our 4 cars and we can thoroughly recommend a short drive down the road to the George Inn where the food is excellent.
The National showcaves centre is only 15 minutes away and also well worth a visit.

The communication from Marnie was excellent, from when we made the booking, to wishing us a safe journey prior to leaving.

Thoroughly recommend a stay at Capel Cartref.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for the thorough feedback. Glad you had ample parking space and privacy at the chapel. It's not far to drive for lovely sights and we are so happy you had a special weekend. Please come back one day, Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location to the places we wanted to visit. Cleanliness
Liked least: A tumble dryer would be helpful
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hi there, thank you very much for the thorough review. Really glad you had enough space and bathroom time. We hope you do return sometime soon as the views never get boring. Thank you for taking care of the chapel during your stay too. Take care, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space & location
Liked least: No tumble dryer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hi there, thank you very much for your prompt review! We are glad you had a good time, and you're welcome re the cava. Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay, we hope you come back some time in the future, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jayne J
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rugby weekend”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked two nights for five couples and three dogs. Fab location for woodland walks and golf, waterfalls and Swansea. Walked to the New Tredegar Arms on Friday evening, dog friendly, lovely welcome and good pub grub. Lovely spacious, comfortable place to stay. Would recommend. Thank you. Rugby not so good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Wow! I was just about to email you and ask if you'd mind completing a review, and here we are... Thank you! We are glad you had a good weekend (despite the rugby results), and that you managed to fit quite a few things in over the two days. Thank you again for leaving the chapel so immaculate, you really did much more than expected. We hope you return again soon. Take care, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing