We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Great cottage in super location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great cottage in super location
Country cottage on the lane that goes to the beach Walk down the lane to the beach and Dinas Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Great cottage in super location
Country cottage on the lane that goes to the beach
Walk down the lane to the beach and Dinas Island
Dinas Island viewed from over Newport Bay - Pencraig is located left of wood. National Trust pic
Beach (700m) is sandy, safe and never crowded, Coastal Path on the doorstep
Comfortable conventionally furnished with carpets and rugs, pictures and books.
Sunny garden has private patio at the back
Comfortable conventionally furnished with carpets and rugs, pictures and books.
Comfortable well furnished living room
Master bedroom with double bed, cottage style window
Second bedroom has twin beds
Kitchen has full size cooker, under w-top fridge, w-machine, toaster, sandwich maker, Doulton servic
Lobsters and crabs from the bay are often available
Sailors Safety at Pwllgwaelod is a top fish restaurant
There's open land around, great for rambling, adventure
Cwm-yr-Eglwys is a short walk from the cottage, and has another beach. Brilliant Summer Regatta wit
Sheltered patio is private sun trap
Little garden has a place for tea
From the Visitor's Book 2014 - people have really liked Pencraig!
Google map distance from Pencraig to Pwll beach is just 1 km
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newport, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel C
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location,shame about some aspects of the cottage.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The garden area showed no comparison to the pictures online .The grass was overgrown and the borders indistinct from the grass with brambles growing onto the lawn. The washing line was snapped and unusable.
The garden furniture was rusty,dirty and canvas chairs mouldy. The seating area at the rear had an upturned rusty barbeque, 3 rusting bikes and again the vegetation had reclaimed this area. It was not somewhere you could sit as shown in the online pictures. The side of the cottage appeared to be a dumping ground for all sorts of rusty items.The toilet button for flushing had broken and a cork was there to use instead but a number of times this didn't work so we had to remove the lid to get the cistern to refill.
We think there is an infestation of wood lice in the bedroom where our son slept as each day we had to rid a number of them from the bedding, walls and his clothes. The window wouldn't open and there was a smell of dampness and mould in this room but also throughout the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of maintenance throughout
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
You're right - on all counts. The lawn did need a mow and the patio a tidy up. If you had contacted me during your stay many of these things would have been done for you. I was there two days after you left and fixed most of the items on your list in two hours. Privately owned and managed cottages are not the same as TravelLodge or Premier Inn which have staff on duty 24/7, and the management can't be as professional. But the cottage has other things going for it - I hope! So I can only apologise and hope the inadequacies did not ruin the entirety your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltgirl
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Spent a wonderful week at Pencraig cottage. Great location and we had fabulous weather throughout our stay. Loved the Pembrokeshire coast and the walk around Dinas Island was stunning. Spectacular sunsets down at the beach and a great meal to be had at the inn.
Cottage had everything we needed and was cosy and comfortable. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Do return at any time, and join the regulars who return for a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cauby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Pencraig for a few days and we absolutely loved it.
The cottage was super clean, it's spacious, the kitchen has everything you need to cook. There are also a lot of books and movies available. Beds are very comfy. We could not expect a better cottage to stay.

The location is very good as well, with lots of different activities to do in surrounding, It's only a 10 minutes walk to the beach :)

We highly recommend this place !

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
I'm so pleased you like Pencraig, and do think of coming back. Regular visitors get good discounts, and can almost feel the property is 'theirs', but without the hassle of property ownership.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, homely and great location”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked a last minute weekend away for our son's first birthday and had a call from the owner who was very helpful in arranging our stay. The cottage had everying we needed for our family of four, with high chair and travel cot provided. The location was ideal, with easy access to the surrounding area. Would definitey recommend a stay and good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Pencraig. A short out-of-season break can turn into a memorable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor F
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a delightful, if a little tired, cottage in a superb location for touring Pembrokeshire. The two bedrooms (one twin and one double) are of ample size with reasonable storage.
We are a family with two children aged nearly 12 and 14 and the accommodation suited us very well.
It is a fairly short, but very steep walk down from the cottage to the nearest beach (at Pwllgwaelod) and from there, a fairly short, level walk to the other beach at Cwm-yr-Eglwys. From both of these starting points, you can make an enjoyable walk around Dinas Island (approx 2/3 miles), or there is a coastal walk to Fishguard (approx 5 miles) which is hard-going, but worth it.
Whilst the cottage is lovely and homely, some maintenance work would be required to bring this up to a better standard, but we would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room was perfect, with new patio doors
Liked least: There were more spiders than any of us would have liked.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thanks for the review - I took your remarks to heart and have replaced the kitchen sink with a new one with new taps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing