We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$221
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
oldmanbigkid
Nepal

great overnight theatre stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Amazing value hotel. Clean room, massive bed. Great convenient location in the city centre. Great value pre-theatre meal and menu. Can'tt faulkt it.

Will definately stay here again.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Oldmanbigkid,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff and the Laguna Kitchen & Bar.
We are thrilled that you have rated us 5 bubbles, we strive to provide a great stay and great dishes for our guests to enjoy.
Your comments certainly warm our hearts. We can't wait to welcome you back and for you to try one of the many new dishes on our new menu launching on the 1st of May 2024.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$176
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$108
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$273
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$91
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Mercure
    AU$192
0.6 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Travelodge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
PremierInn.com
AU$118
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$294
  • Novotel
    AU$318
1.0 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
  • ibis Budget
    AU$97
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$91
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Park Plaza Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,062)
Filter reviews
3,062 results
Traveller rating
1,637
933
282
118
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,637
933
282
118
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laguna bar lovely hotel steam room spa treatments afternoon tea huge bed superior room good size central location quiet room saturday night stayed here for one night following morning car parking night's sleep good nights sleep cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,062 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for my wife’s birthday on Sunday 7th April. Our stay included use of the spa facilities a spa treatment each and breakfast the next day.

Firstly the positives. Pool area is great, the spa treatments were great and the hotel rooms are big and quiet. However we felt the negatives outweigh the positives.

Negatives. We arrived before check in so our room wasn’t ready so we were directed to the spa area. On arrival we were informed that the only spa robes available were small and the spa receptionist advised that these are “extra small”. No good for either of us, luckily we brought gym t-shirts with us. Later on in the day others coming to the spa were told that no robes were available. Not ideal for a spa stay. We were also told that we were welcome to use the pool area and the spa relaxation room, after an hour by the pool and 30 minutes before our treatment we asked a different receptionist where the relaxation room was, she was rude and advised that the room is for post treatment only and in a huff would let us use it before our treatment. We saw the same lady telling another couple that no robes were available and she was stressed, again not very professional. Next onto our treatments where the walls are so paper thin you can hear everything going on outside including a member of staff talking on the phone, and finally the relaxation room where groups of hens are free to gather post treatment shouting over each other, meaning a not very relaxing ‘relaxation room’ .

The rooms are big and spacious however they are in need of an update. Our air con would turn on but despite setting it at its lowest the room was very warm.

As a person who is from Cardiff I think there are far nicer hotels available and at lesser price including a popular 5* hotel just outside of Cardiff with better spa facilities. We wanted to try somewhere different but we wouldn’t return.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joshj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Joshj89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are glad to see you enjoy our spa and treatments. We are surprised to read your negative comments about our reception team member. We are renowned for the friendliness and professionalism of our staff and we can assure you we will review this event and take the necessary actions to ensure we raise to the high standards we both expect. similarly, we will review the bathrobes situation and ensure those are in sufficient quantity going forward.

We hope you change your mind and allow yourself to try us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

The hotel itself was ok, room nice, no noise with a room at the front, 1st floor. We stay in Cardiff a few times a year 1st visit to park plaza my only query was, After paying with my card contactless at check in at 1145 by 1205 my bank had been hacked with 3 transactions of clothes shop online shopping ? I'm not suggesting it was the hotel but I'm not ruling it out either as have never happened to me before, I did question on check out but was told they'll mention it to the manager..... probably won't be staying there again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonfrench1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sharonfrench1506

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay.

We are of course very sorry to read the misfortune of your bank being hacked. I am sure the bank will investigate your fraud allegations further; You should be able to check the delivery address for those clothes. We have taken the time to check our CCTV coverage whilst you were checking in and I can confirm the area around you was clear of any people. It is very disappointing that you would contemplate that one of our team would hack your account. Be assured we deal with many guests daily and are fully confident that this is not the case. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

The hotel itself and staff are great. The bar is modern with a good range of drinks and the restaurants, both the bar for light snacks and the main restaurant are great with a nice selection of food to choose from.

The only real downside was the noise level from the club across the road. I realise it was Easter Sunday so a bank holiday following but the noise was constant until 4am complete with screaming women and fighting men.

Although they do say if you’d like a quieter room to pay a premium for a museum facing room, they at no point say that the noise from the club will continue until 4am. I grew up and lived in the centre of Cardiff until I was 22 so I’m used to noise but in my opinion I can’t imagine anyone would believe that level of bass would be conducive to a good nights sleep. Pity really as the rest of the stay was fine

Room tip: Avoid the front of hotel unless you can sleep through a jet taking off
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rabbit171
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Rabbit171,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us,

We are sorry your night was disturbed by the outside activities from that particularly eventful night.

We are pleased to read of your wonderful praises for our different offerings and our staff. We hope this will prompt you to come back and stay again with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

I have a stayed twice now, once with a friend and this time with my husband. Each time…not the stay I expected.

Positives:
Easy to walk to from city centre.
Room service food was good and reasonably priced.

Negatives:
We were first allocated a room that didn’t feel clean or at all luxury.
My husband and I asked to upgrade which we were thankfully able to. The suite we upgraded to had the sofa set up as a bed for a family and the main was set up as 2 singles. As it was myself and my husband I’m not sure why they didn’t mention it or offer to change the set up of the beds. I know we were doing an upgrade but she could see we had originally booked one bed so were highly likely to still want that set up.
We decided not to bother them again so we packed away the sofa bed ourselves and pushed the singles together as best we could.
The room itself was dated with a very very small TV far away from the bed or sofa.
The bathroom could have been cleaner, particularly the shower door and surround. The toilet roll left for us was half used which, perhaps it’s a personal thing, but I find it a little gross. I expect a new toilet roll or at least one with more than half the roll left!
The corridor was very noisy at one point in the evening, it sounded like people were in the room with us.
The street noise was very loud and kept us awake, to a degree this can’t be helped with a hotel in the city centre but having stayed at others nearby, this was much worse.
We didn’t book breakfast this time as when I had previously stayed with a friend the breakfast had been set up in 2 areas and 1 area had been absolutely covered in tiny flies.

Overall - okay for a girls weekend if you’re in Cardiff to see a show/gig. Wouldn’t stay for a luxury weekend where you would want to spend a lot of time in your room and wouldn’t stay again for a romantic night away. For a little extra, go and stay at the Parkgate, the levels of luxury are poles apart. Avoid the breakfast, instead take a walk over to Bills for excellent food and service.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLiqBear15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Dear MrsLiqBear15,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry some of the issues you mentioned were not raised while staying with us as we would have loved the opportunity to remedy them without fuss.

We surely look at your comments with sadness but also with a renewed focus on improving our services and facilities.

We thrive on pleasing our guests and evidently fell short of expectations on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

In reference to a disappointing experience at a Gentlemen’s afternoon tea at the ParkPlaza Cardiff on 24.03.2024-15.00.

We utilised a gift voucher bought by our son as a present for my partner for a special birthday, with the anticipation of an enjoyable afternoon.

At being seated at our table , it was covered in salt, we asked the waiter to give the table an additional wipe over and was informed table was clean and it’s only salt from the salt cellar and brushed some off with his hand, leaving salt still on the table. Not the response and action we would have expected from a four star establishment.

We were then served our food for the Gentlemen’s afternoon tea, food was lukewarm and not to the standard we anticipated. For example the beef served with Yorkshire pudding was pretty tough. (Partner left hers)

Around 20 minutes after being served the restaurant manager came to table and asked if everything was ok, we advised of the issues and that we had not been offered water for the table and not even asked as to what tea /coffee we would like to be served. A pre-requisite for Afternoon tea I believe.

Apologies were made and tea ordered, all be it to late for us to enjoy the experience.

We seemed to be a bit anonymous based on the lack of customer care and attention we received on our visit for a hotel of your perceived standing.

At looking to settle any additional payment on leaving, i made our concerns known one again and asked for a email address to report the experience, and was informed no compensation can be offered as it was a gift voucher used. At
no time was any request was made for any compensation and this comment just seemed to highlight the lack of customer care and attention expected no matter what source of payment was made.

We like to highlight good customer service and experiences from our hotel/restaurant visits so we can recommend to family and friends , but sadly cannot on this occasion.

Still no response from the restaurant manager on the email sent !!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pontprennaublue73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Dear Pontprennaublue73,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very sorry to have disappointed you on this busy day.

We thrive on giving our customers the best possible experience and it is sad to see you did not enjoy yourselves on this occasion.

Rest assured we take every comment into consideration and , the standard of service you described is not of the usually high levels that we are used to, and that we both expect from our team. We are confident our temporary shortcomings can be remedied with immediate effect. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for an improved experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews