We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Edd D

Bane of City Centre Location.. could be so better!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
We fully appreciated this to be a City Centre hotel and expected a little noise from outside.

However we didn’t expect to feel like we were actually trying to sleep in a nightclub!

Room 240 backs onto a couple of nightclubs and we have ‘felt’ and heard the music vibrating and thumping through the room since 11pm.. and it’s now 0600hrs.

No chance of a restful nights sleep even with earplugs in - you feel everything.

Be warned the secondary double glazing is not fit for purpose.

The hotel is dated and needs some TLC however our room was clean and bed comfy - just a shame we didn’t sleep.

Overall could have been a far better experience.

The management should reflect the antisocial and excessive noise in the pricing and description.

Having stayed in many City Centre hotels across the world - this has been by far the worst experience for ‘nightclub’ noise.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the rear towards the clubs / canal..
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 580eddd,

I am naturally disappointed when reading your review and must apologise for you not getting a good night sleep.
I just wanted to clarify a point, you have been travelling "across the word in many hotels", knowing that we have a reception 24h, you didn't make any contact with us ? I understand it was late but our night team will have be able to assist with moving to another room and carrying your luggage's.
Wishing you all the best in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$101
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    AU$84
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Algotels
    AU$137
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$62
  • Priceline
    AU$71
  • Vio.com
    AU$62
  • Expedia.com
    AU$65
0.5 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
AU$207
  • Priceline
    AU$243
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
  • Hotels.com
    AU$203
0.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
0.3 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
    AU$138
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
2.0 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$80
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$256
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
  • Vio.com
    AU$251
  • Priceline
    AU$256
2.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$139
  • Novotel
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
    AU$139
0.9 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$92
  • Vio.com
4.8 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free parking
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,012)
Filter reviews
3,012 results
Traveller rating
1,452
861
365
181
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,452
861
365
181
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park city centre lovely hotel queen street excellent location quiet room business trip a lovely stay comfy bed jury castle ncp concert principality stadium rugby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,012 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great hotel for my business trips to Cardiff and central to everything you need, Special mention goes to Fay who works in the bar/restaurant who is super friendly and always cheerful.
Would happily bring my wife to stay there while I'm in cardiff

Room tip: One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning marccA4378FC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better.

We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be great. Our team works hard to create a welcoming and aesthetically pleasing environment for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards
Aksel
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is comfortable with a small but good quality room with ensuite toilet and shower. The room has instant tea and coffee. The room make-up was really excellent and I hope the hotel will give credit to whoever does this tough job. Reception staff were equally deserving of credit. Breakfast was ok but below the standard I would expect for a 4-star hotel (very limited fruit salad, croissants not fresh). Parking is limited but I got a place (I think the last one) arriving at 6.00 pm on a Friday. They charge £25 per day. Location is excellent.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hfffoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear hffoman,
thank you very much for this detailed review. We will take on board this constructive feedback and hope to achieve a 5* next time. Wishing you all the best.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of attending an event at this Hotel (Leonardo Cardiff) , The facilities are first class and the staff are very accommodating. On site parking 50+ spaces i attended for 4 days and always managed to park. Special thanks to David (Management Team) and also Joanna (front of house) for their extra care and attention to detail along with their professionalism , nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Passenger66013971366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan,
it was a pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel hotel for 4 days. I am looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

We have truly enjoyed staying at this Hotel, Leonardo Cardiff. The room was really nice, clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff have been absolutely brilliant and no better than JOANNA at reception who has been truly wonderful and we cannot praise her enough. She is an exemplar of highest customer service and a credit to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2024

Dear Stephanie,
thank you very for your 5*. Joanna is working with us since only 2 months but I agree with you: "She is an exemplar of highest customer service and a credit to this hotel". I am looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Create location for Cardiff City Centre.
Friendly, helpful staff. Easy check-in beforehand, on-line.
Clean rooms with just about everything you need.
Hit and miss with the breakfast, one day not great, the next pretty good.
Very pricey bar!
Overall though, a very enjoyable stay.

Room tip: NCP Car Park, Dumfries Place, St Andrews Lane is easiest for parking. 5 mins away and cheaper then the hotel.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Dear Gareth,
it was a pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel and I am looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews