We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lynne W
Gloucester, United Kingdom

Weekend trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Weekend trip to Cardiff and stayed at the Leonardo Hotel in the centre......was welcomed by a lovely receptionist who had taken our luggage in as our rooms weren't quite ready, this allowed us to visit Cardiff Bay and a boat trip. Upon arriving back our rooms were ready and although she had been unable to find rooms on the same floor (which wasn't an issue) we collected out luggage and went to our rooms. It was definitely one of the best rooms l have stayed in, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, amazing shower and lifts to all floors. We also had drinks in the hotel bar which had non-alcoholic alternatives - mocktails and cider.......very clean and well presented hotel, friendly staff would definitely stay there again and would easily recommend to friends/family
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Very busy hotel, was fully booked as there was rugby on and bar only took card payments (as did...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveller45_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better.

I wanted to express my sincere gratitude for the wonderful review you left regarding your recent stay with us. It truly warms our hearts to know that you had a delightful experience at our hotel. Your kind words have been shared with our entire team, and we are thrilled to have contributed to making your stay enjoyable. It's always our aim to create memorable experiences for our guests, and your positive feedback is the best reward for our efforts.

We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to our hotels.
Kind regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$162
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$198
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$168
  • Priceline
    AU$233
0.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby View
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
0.8 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$194
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$194
2.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
  • Priceline
    AU$72
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
    AU$66
0.5 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$184
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.3 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
2.0 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
    AU$140
0.9 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,006)
Filter reviews
3,007 results
Traveller rating
1,450
860
365
180
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,450
860
365
180
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park city centre lovely hotel queen street excellent location quiet room business trip a lovely stay comfy bed jury castle ncp concert principality stadium rugby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,007 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were so welcoming and friendly and a special thank you to Krysztof for arranging the room for us and getting us checked in early.
Thank you to Matilda at reception for the warm welcome and help checking out today.
Thank you to Lukasz in the restaurant for the great seating at breakfast every day. I would highly recommend breakfast at this hotel, great selection of food options and if you have allergies.
The bedrooms were quiet at night and the beds were very comfortable.

Room tip: Great parking at the hotel in central cardiff.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyp728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sally,
it was a pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel. Wishing you all the best and see you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room-spotless and I could have stayed for hours under that amazing shower. David and his team are of course, professional, friendly and delightful. Top notch crew all round I would say. Superb location in the heart of Cardiff; excellent choice for a short stay. We will go there again.

Room tip: Book cheaper parking online at Capital Parking. It's just across the street from the hotel, secure and convenient.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear William,
thank you very much for your 5***** stars and your fantastic review. I am looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely stay at this hotel, it was a beautiful building. Joanne was the receptionist, she was very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, very large. Breakfast was great, loads to eat if you wanted. Nice and central. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear V1737IAgailb,

Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely time at our hotel and that our team, facilities, and location contributed to your enjoyment. We take great pride in our beautiful building and are pleased that you found it to be a charming backdrop for your stay. Your kind words about Joanne, our receptionist, are greatly appreciated. Providing friendly and helpful service is a top priority for us, and we're delighted that Joanne's hospitality made a positive impression on you.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your spacious and lovely room. Ensuring our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay is our utmost priority, and it's wonderful to know that we succeeded in this aspect. Our breakfast offerings are designed to cater to a variety of tastes, and we're pleased that you found plenty to eat and enjoyed the selection. We understand the importance of a satisfying breakfast to start the day off right, and we're glad that our offerings met your expectations. Our central location is indeed one of our strongest assets, and we're pleased that it added to the convenience and enjoyment of your stay.


We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most!
Best regards,
Manol
Customer Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently booked an event at this hotel and to be honest we've been let down by other hotels in the past so what a pleasant surprise to have such an incredible experience with the Leonardo! Moises our event manager was absolutely amazing! He took care of us, constantly made sure we were looked after and went above and beyond for all my guests. The DJ was amazing! He completely understood the brief of cheesy songs we like haha and the food was so good! we'll 100% be booking our next event party with you again! Thank you for such an incredible experience <3

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilgD2493FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear April,
it was a pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel. I really hope to see you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Excellent stay at the Leonardo. Centrally located and so easy to enjoy the city and its attractions, bars and restaurants. Facilities were good and the rooms very comfortable. On arriving home we discovered we had left behind some clothing and the reception team were excellent in locating and getting it returned to us, which we much appreciated.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1kayjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Good afternoon 1kayjay23,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better.

I wanted to express my sincere gratitude for the wonderful review you left regarding your recent stay with us. It truly warms our hearts to know that you had a delightful experience at our hotel. Your kind words have been shared with our entire team, and we are thrilled to have contributed to making your stay enjoyable. It's always our aim to create memorable experiences for our guests, and your positive feedback is the best reward for our efforts.

We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to our hotels.
Kind regards
Aksel
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews