We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue J

Great position, helpful staff but slightly tired decor

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2021
Really, I'd like to give this 3 and a half stars. The position is fantastic, very central and about five minutes' walk from the castle, Bute Park, loads of shops and restaurants. Unfortunately this also meant it was quite noisy at night, and we didn't really appreciate the recycling bins being emptied at 5.15 am! The reception staff were lovely; the first room we were allocated hadn't been made up but we were quickly given another (which I think was an upgrade). The bed was comfortable, there was enough storage and it was nice to have a fridge, but the decor was a bit tired, especially in the bathroom. Breakfast was ok but things ran out; on our first morning we got down at about 9am (breakfast went on until 10) and there were already no pastries left. We did enjoy our stay, and had an extremely good deal through Travelzoo which meant it was great value.
Date of stay: September 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Good Afternoon suejQ5265KU,

Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to learn that you found our hotel’s location close to the city centre, the castle, Bute Park, shops and restaurants to be fantastic!

It is so great to hear that you loved the spacious room, the comfortable bed and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

We are really sorry to read though, that you felt the décor to be a bit tired. We will let the management team have your feedback immediately and we hope that we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn and Leonardo Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Melisa
Customer Experience Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$161
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$189
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$129
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$257
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$103
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • ibis Budget
    AU$73
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
  • Novotel
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Leonardo Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,012)
Filter reviews
3,012 results
Traveller rating
1,452
861
365
181
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,452
861
365
181
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park city centre lovely hotel queen street excellent location quiet room business trip a lovely stay comfy bed jury castle ncp concert principality stadium rugby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 3,012 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

I don’t understand the negative comments.
We had a lovely one night stay,very comfortable room fab bed,and pillows,huge bath sheets with lovely shower what’s to moan about,very quite corridors which can be noisy,no noise atal from doors opening and closing,location,bang in the centre of Cardiff,they also provide parking,we use the train.
My advice is take ear plugs as this is Cardiff centre,lots of youngsters shouting and screaming...we had a great room that overlooked a side entrance.
Breakfast very good,your typical hotel breakfast full English etc....good choices.
Thank you Alisha for your help.
One criticism the bar closed at 10 pm,we had gone to a concert walked back in the hope of a lovely glass of red before bed,not to be bear in mind if your out after 10 pm.
We will use this hotel again,I do recommend it.

Room tip: Yes there is parking,take ear plugs if on front of this lovely hotel.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Good Afternoon Marie H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am thrilled to hear that you loved our quiet hotel and its amazing location, as well as the comfortable room, the fabulous bed and pillows, and the lovely shower!

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the breakfast, and that the parking was convenient to you.

We will pass your kind words to Alisha and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inn and Leonardo Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,
Melisa
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

We bought this break with a voucher and what a bargain! Highly recommended.
Fantastic location in the heart of the city, lovely staff and a magnificent breakfast served until 10am. Exceptionally clean and tidy ..... a joy!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Good Afternoon Ann W,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for leaving a review, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be exceptionally clean and tidy and its location in the heart of the city to be fantastic!

It is amazing to know that our staff were lovely and that the breakfast served was magnificent!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inn and Leonardo Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,
Melisa
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021

I have stayed here several times over the last 10 years but the hotel felt tired this time, it was disappointing. The breakfast was disappointing, a bag by the door and a bacon bap on a tray downstairs was not satisfactory. There was a lot of external noise even with the windows closed.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Good Afternoon Ian S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are really sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the breakfast. Unfortunately we were unable to provide a restaurant breakfast service due to the impact of the pandemic on staffing, faced with supply chain issues which continued to present challenges for the hospitality industry during your stay. We understand this is disappointing for some of our guests but this was a temporary measure. We are now pleased to confirm that we are back to operating a full breakfast service!

Also, very sorry to hear about the noise and we hope that we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn and Leonardo Hotels in the near future, as you have been a loyal and regular customer previously and know of our normal standards.

Kind regards,
Melisa
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

Arrived early very helpful check in staff got me into my room with out any fuss.
plenty of hand sanitizer points around hotel.
Room was very clean with a comfortable bed.
Breakfast was available in the restaurant. The hotel is in a great central location and close to all amenities.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Curiosity21461457470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Good Afternoon Curiosity21461457470,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel’s location close to the city centre and all amenities to be great!

It’s great that the room was very clean, the bed comfortable and our staff very helpful!

I am happy to know that you enjoyed our full breakfast, as well as the early check in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inns and Leonardo Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards
Melisa
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2021

I went up suddenly to Cardiff for a break from home on short notice. I was given the opportunity to check-in online, and check-out online too so it saved a lot of time. Staff were very friendly. The room is small but cosy, and the bed was directly opposite the television.

The shower was nice, too, and I felt my belongings were secure when I went out to explore Cardiff.

The hotel is located close to the national museum, Cardiff castle, the train station, and cinemas and places to eat.

Very pleased, and would happily return.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peterhill160
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Customer Experience, Other at Leonardo Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Good Morning Peterhill160,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you found the staff friendly, the room cosy and the location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jurys Inns and Leonardo hotels in the future.

Kind regards
Rezmi,
Customer Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews