We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Macey K

Would 100% recommend!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024
The room was cleaned by Najith and I cannot fault it one little bit! I am so happy with my stay. The room is beautiful and the comfort of the bed is out of this world. The pillows are so comfortable, the room is a great size with a beautiful view of the principality stadium.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Pre book the spa x
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 May 2024
Dear Macey,

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, and it is always so rewarding to hear our guests describe The Parkgate hotel in this way.

Guest comfort is our ultimate aim and I was delighted to hear you had such a comfortable stay and found the room to be cleaned to such a high standard. In Particular mentioning our very hard working housekeeping team member Najith who is an asset to the hotel and will be rewarded for his attention to detail.

I will have great pleasure in sharing your comments with my colleagues across the hotel and in particular with the housekeeping team. I very much hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you to The Parkgate Hotel in the near future, if we can be of any assistance in the meantime please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$154
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$236
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
0.5 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
AU$139
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • vocoHotels
    AU$234
2.2 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$74
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$70
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$114
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$70
  • Expedia.com
    AU$71
1.0 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveller rating
784
161
130
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
784
161
130
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal suite park gate elemis products room restaurant old post office superior suite beautiful hotel westgate street front of house manager birthday treat spa facilities dressing gowns rugby stadium beautiful room coffee machine city centre afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2024

Beautiful hotel and a Lovely room overlooking Principality stadium
Professional & friendly staff
Well positioned hotel, central but very quiet rooms
Excellent breakfast
Check in in advance and if so wish - key on phone which really sped up check in process at busy time of day

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catt3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Main Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear Catt,

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, and it is always so rewarding to hear our guests describe The Parkgate hotel in this way. Guest comfort is our ultimate aim and I was delighted to hear you had such a comfortable stay and were looked after so attentively by the team. I will have great pleasure in sharing your comments with my colleagues across the hotel.

I very much hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you to The Parkgate Hotel in the near future, if we can be of any assistance in the meantime please do get in touch.

Many thanks,
Alex, Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

Lovely, generously sized rooms in the centre of Cardiff. Really east walk into town and the beautiful Bute Park.

Taff Trail also in easy reach.

The room was spotless and very quiet, no creaky floors or noise from neighbours despite a party going on downstairs.

Staff are wonderful and breakfast is lush!!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Hotelonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Main Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review! This is so wonderful to hear! We really take pride in our hotel and making sure everyone is as comfortable, welcomed and looked after as possible.

We do hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Alex, Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

This was our second visit and everything was excellent as previously. Staff very informative and helpful. Only downside was that we felt the breakfast buffet could have been a lot hotter. We were down at 8:45 and some of it was not very hot. Looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2024

Dear Marlene,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to us. It is wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations on your return stay. Your feedback both positive and constructed will be passed on to the appropriate teams to improve our product. Sorry to hear your breakfast wasn't to our normal high standards. I have passed on your feedback to the head chef.

We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024

Excellent location! less than a 10 minute walk from almost everything.

The service was phenomenal! Very friendly staff and super accommodating.

Rooms were very nice. Only downside is that they didn't have a mini fridge which might create some issues for people who need to keep their medication refrigerated. other than that, the rooms were lovely.

Room tip: Room does not have a mini fridge.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatimaalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Dear Fatima,

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review, about your wonderful Parkgate experience! We truly value customer feedback and I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had such a memorable stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments and we are thrilled to know you returned home with some happy memories of your time with us. I will have much pleasure in sharing your review with colleagues across the hotel who do go the extra mile to ensure everything is just perfect for our guests. Thank you for sharing your recommendations for the room. You can have a fridge in the room on request before or during the stay.

We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024 via mobile

A dinner for two to celebrate my birthday, A special evening made more special by the staff and food. From our greeting at the desk to the attention we received from Massimiliano the whole evening felt very special. The meal was equally special. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. If you are looking to celebrate a special occasion the Parkgate Hotel will not disappoint.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Dear Kim,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our Two AA Rosette restaurant the Sorting restaurant. We will share your kind compliments with Massimiliano and the whole team - they will be pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your visit and they Massimiliano to making your birthday that extra special.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed feedback, it is a pleasure for us to read such fantastic words. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews