We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marlene W

Excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2024via mobile
This was our second visit and everything was excellent as previously. Staff very informative and helpful. Only downside was that we felt the breakfast buffet could have been a lot hotter. We were down at 8:45 and some of it was not very hot. Looking forward to our next stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 May 2024
Dear Marlene,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to us. It is wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations on your return stay. Your feedback both positive and constructed will be passed on to the appropriate teams to improve our product. Sorry to hear your breakfast wasn't to our normal high standards. I have passed on your feedback to the head chef.

We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • HotelIndigo.com
    AU$154
  • Algotels
    AU$137
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$123
  • Travelodge
    AU$75
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$137
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
0.3 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$63
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    AU$64
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$190
0.5 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
1.7 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Booking.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
0.9 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$83
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.6 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$268
  • vocoHotels
    AU$268
  • Algotels
    AU$239
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
2.2 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$74
  • Booking.com
    AU$74
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
0.8 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
782
160
130
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
782
160
130
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal suite park gate elemis products room restaurant old post office superior suite beautiful hotel westgate street front of house manager birthday treat spa facilities dressing gowns rugby stadium beautiful room coffee machine city centre afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2024

Excellent location! less than a 10 minute walk from almost everything.

The service was phenomenal! Very friendly staff and super accommodating.

Rooms were very nice. Only downside is that they didn't have a mini fridge which might create some issues for people who need to keep their medication refrigerated. other than that, the rooms were lovely.

Room tip: Room does not have a mini fridge.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatimaalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Dear Fatima,

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review, about your wonderful Parkgate experience! We truly value customer feedback and I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had such a memorable stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments and we are thrilled to know you returned home with some happy memories of your time with us. I will have much pleasure in sharing your review with colleagues across the hotel who do go the extra mile to ensure everything is just perfect for our guests. Thank you for sharing your recommendations for the room. You can have a fridge in the room on request before or during the stay.

We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024 via mobile

A dinner for two to celebrate my birthday, A special evening made more special by the staff and food. From our greeting at the desk to the attention we received from Massimiliano the whole evening felt very special. The meal was equally special. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. If you are looking to celebrate a special occasion the Parkgate Hotel will not disappoint.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Dear Kim,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our Two AA Rosette restaurant the Sorting restaurant. We will share your kind compliments with Massimiliano and the whole team - they will be pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your visit and they Massimiliano to making your birthday that extra special.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed feedback, it is a pleasure for us to read such fantastic words. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024

The evening meal was excellent the staff were friendly helpful and professional.
The room was very good and very clean, and well presented, but the bed was too soft, it would have been nice to have a choice of pillows ie; on soft and one firm, rather than two very soft pillows.
The breakfast choices were very good and the staff again were excellent, however the one thing that was irritating was a number of people talking loudly on their phone while eating their breakfast, which could be eased by possibly moving tables slightly further apart.
But still a lovely stay and would definitely go again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay highlighting both your positive experiences and areas for improvement. I assure you that we use all feedback to work with the teams to improve the service we offer and allow us to work on our continuity of service. Due to the size of our property we have to keep the restaurant layout the same. I was sorry to hear fellow residents disturbed your breakfast experience. Whilst we are unable to control the way in which other guests act, we will certainly take your comments further to try prevent this occurring again.

We really take pride in our hotel and making sure everyone is as comfortable, welcomed and looked after as possible. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024 via mobile

5 out of five.
The room was beautifully clean (cleaned by Rose). All the staff are super polite and pristinely presented. All the communal areas are smart and clean and the breakfast is delicious. The gym is small but accidentally appointed and the spa experience available is fantastic.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank What_No_Chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2024

Dear valued guest,

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, and it is always so rewarding to hear our guests describe The Parkgate hotel in this way.

Guest comfort is our ultimate aim and I was delighted to hear you had such a comfortable stay and found the room to be cleaned to such a high standard. In Particular mentioning our very hard working housekeeping team member Rose who is an asset to the hotel and will be rewarded for her attention to detail.

I will have great pleasure in sharing your comments with my colleagues across the hotel and particularly with the housekeeping team. I very much hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you to The Parkgate Hotel in the near future, if we can be of any assistance in the meantime please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

Came in, was attended to swiftly and lead to the bar. Atmosphere was on point and felt welcomed and comfortable off rip..

Absolutely amazing experience, Massimiliano went above and beyond and truly made sure we were properly looked after.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Dear Daniel,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our Two AA Rosette restaurant the Sorting restaurant.

We will share your kind compliments with Massimiliano and the whole team - they will be pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your visit and they contributed to make it more special. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed feedback, it is a pleasure for us to read such fantastic words.

We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch.

Kindest regards,
Ryan
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews