We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pauly00
south wales

Good Room Expensive Breakfast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2022
Stayed on the 4th of Jan for 1 night in a junior suite room (440). Check in was easy and quick and handled very well by an courteous and helpful member of staff. £50.00 deposit taken on card. Room was very spacious and well appointed with queen sized bed, sofa , table with two chairs, coffee machine, separate dressing room. Large tv (screen could do with a clean). Bathroom had a large walk in shower as well as a bath tub all very clean. Wall opposite entry door has had something splashed over it and the carpet was damp in places. Overall the room was very clean.
Enjoyed a couple of drinks in bar which was very quiet, staff again very polite and helpful. Did not book breakfast decided in the morning to give it a go. Could not find anything on website or via QR code in room regarding price of breakfast ( I should of asked ) breakfast was good with many local foods and staff again on top form. Slightly shocked upon check to discover breakfast cost £47 for the two of us.
Would stay again in the hotel.
Date of stay: January 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Dear Pauly,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are delighted that were were able to exceed your expectations this time and really deliver the 5 star customer service standards that we pride ourselves on. Your feedback both positive and constructive allows us to continually improve our products and services and enhance the overall experience for our guests. We always suggest taking up breakfast when booking. Our full welsh breakfast is £15.50. However, I will pass on your feedback to the management team and review our digital experience.

We can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$162
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$190
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby View
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$194
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$74
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$109
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
1.7 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
752
154
122
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
154
122
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal suite park gate elemis products room restaurant old post office superior suite beautiful hotel westgate street front of house manager birthday treat spa facilities dressing gowns rugby stadium beautiful room coffee machine city centre afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed for four nights, service throughout our stay was excellent. Our room was very relaxing and luxurious. The food was first class, and room service a real treat. The Spa is fantastic, with great views of Cardiff. The staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. A really excellent hotel in a great location.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CardiffBungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Dear CardiffBungy,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Parkgare Hotel. Your feedback means a lot to us. I am delighted to hear that throughout your stay you received such great service from the team, and you found the overall standard of the hotel and bedroom to a high quality finish. I have shared all your kind words with the team.

We look very much forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2021

After the hype about the place, we went in for a drink. It has been nicely renovated and the entrance is impressive.
The bar on the other hand is a different kettle of fish! Large and soulless would best describe it.
The 2 barmen were fairly gormless and I overheard a conversation with another customer about a couple of drinks they were unable to make as they had not heard of them. Honest perhaps but find out discreetly and see if you can deliver, especially as your are building a reputation.
Took an age to be served despite it not being very busy and the drinks were not served in the correct glassware.
Distinctly underwhelmed

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 447iains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2021

Dear 447iains,

I do appreciate you taking time out of your day to give us this feedback. It is not our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling dissatisfied with any part of the service they receive, on that basis your feedback will be invaluable to us.

All comments shall be passed on to the relevant management team to ensure these issues are addressed accordingly.

Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your experience not being met with our usual high standards.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

I’m just about to check out from the Beautiful Parkgate suite (Room 336) after 1 of the most relaxing stays I’ve had in a long time. I can’t relate to the other reviews here as my experience seems to be worlds away.
Very helpful staff on reception for the minimal input I needed, spa staff were very friendly and informative, and the rest of my stay was undisturbed- exactly how I like it.

Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and tables are spaced out well.

The suite itself was beautiful. Hairdryer, toiletries and robes provided, including bamboo toothbrushes and Elemis bath products. Double sink and mirrors in the bathroom, as well as a separate toilet in the hallway for visitors/other family members. The soaker bath is amazing!
It has a huge sofa bed, a dining table with 6 chairs and the biggest, comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in. The Christmas tree was also a nice touch.

It was much needed after the past year or so, and has been thoroughly enjoyed.
Well worth the money and I am looking to book again soon depending on new restrictions.

Parked at the NCP on west gate street, and with the hotels discount it was reasonable for the area at £12 per night (cheaper than the Celtic manor carpark in Newport!)

Overall it’s been a 5* stay. The hotel is new and beautiful and I would stay here with family, friends or as a couple again without hesitation.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Luxuryfamilyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2021

Dear Jodie266,


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff. We are very pleased the Parkgate Suite lived up to your expectations. It is so lovely to read your feedback regarding the team. We are very pleased you find the receptionists and Spa staff very accommodating and your kind words will be passed onto the whole team. Your right we have a good negotiated rate at NCP car parks, in Cardiff if you use the NCP APP and our discount code. We are glad you found this easy to use and affordably priced. Thanks again for you 5* review we can't wait to Welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021

We had a pleasant, relaxing stay for a birthday treat in this new hotel. The hotel has been transformed in a tasteful way, showcasing some of its original features. At dinner we were looked after by Josh, who was charming and knowledgeable.
As well as good food, a comfy mattress and a good shower are a must and this ticked all those boxes.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJayneB-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2021

Dear SJayneB-M,

Thank you for your kind words and 5* review. We are pleased we made your birthday extra special. specially Josh who will be very pleased of your feedback on his service provided. Your kinds words have be forwarded to our whole team.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

Just back from a One night only stay at the Parkgate. Great hotel, friendly helpful staff , small complaint would be the 4pm check in and 11 am checkout, prefer 3pm check in , the hotel did not appear to be too busy. Would defo be a toss up between the Parkgate and the Indigo hotel for our next stay

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Neil3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2021

Dear Neil3333,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback. Feedback is extremely important to us and we will pass on your comments to the management team. Regarding our check in and check out times these are a guideline. If you use our online check in service it will priorities the room and can on some occasions make the room ready earlier.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews