We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Explorers
Bristol, United Kingdom

Beautiful stay in Parkgate Suite.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2021via mobile
I’m just about to check out from the Beautiful Parkgate suite (Room 336) after 1 of the most relaxing stays I’ve had in a long time. I can’t relate to the other reviews here as my experience seems to be worlds away.
Very helpful staff on reception for the minimal input I needed, spa staff were very friendly and informative, and the rest of my stay was undisturbed- exactly how I like it.

Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and tables are spaced out well.

The suite itself was beautiful. Hairdryer, toiletries and robes provided, including bamboo toothbrushes and Elemis bath products. Double sink and mirrors in the bathroom, as well as a separate toilet in the hallway for visitors/other family members. The soaker bath is amazing!
It has a huge sofa bed, a dining table with 6 chairs and the biggest, comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in. The Christmas tree was also a nice touch.

It was much needed after the past year or so, and has been thoroughly enjoyed.
Well worth the money and I am looking to book again soon depending on new restrictions.

Parked at the NCP on west gate street, and with the hotels discount it was reasonable for the area at £12 per night (cheaper than the Celtic manor carpark in Newport!)

Overall it’s been a 5* stay. The hotel is new and beautiful and I would stay here with family, friends or as a couple again without hesitation.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Dear Jodie266,


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff. We are very pleased the Parkgate Suite lived up to your expectations. It is so lovely to read your feedback regarding the team. We are very pleased you find the receptionists and Spa staff very accommodating and your kind words will be passed onto the whole team. Your right we have a good negotiated rate at NCP car parks, in Cardiff if you use the NCP APP and our discount code. We are glad you found this easy to use and affordably priced. Thanks again for you 5* review we can't wait to Welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$184
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$192
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
2.2 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$73
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$68
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Travelodge
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$80
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • Novotel
    AU$138
0.9 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from The Parkgate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
756
157
123
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
756
157
123
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal suite park gate elemis products room restaurant old post office superior suite beautiful hotel westgate street front of house manager birthday treat spa facilities dressing gowns rugby stadium beautiful room coffee machine city centre afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,099 - 1,104 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2021

We had a pleasant, relaxing stay for a birthday treat in this new hotel. The hotel has been transformed in a tasteful way, showcasing some of its original features. At dinner we were looked after by Josh, who was charming and knowledgeable.
As well as good food, a comfy mattress and a good shower are a must and this ticked all those boxes.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJayneB-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2021

Dear SJayneB-M,

Thank you for your kind words and 5* review. We are pleased we made your birthday extra special. specially Josh who will be very pleased of your feedback on his service provided. Your kinds words have be forwarded to our whole team.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

Just back from a One night only stay at the Parkgate. Great hotel, friendly helpful staff , small complaint would be the 4pm check in and 11 am checkout, prefer 3pm check in , the hotel did not appear to be too busy. Would defo be a toss up between the Parkgate and the Indigo hotel for our next stay

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Neil3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2021

Dear Neil3333,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback. Feedback is extremely important to us and we will pass on your comments to the management team. Regarding our check in and check out times these are a guideline. If you use our online check in service it will priorities the room and can on some occasions make the room ready earlier.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2021 via mobile

The hotel is very well presented and being new and decorated to high standard it’s a pleasure to stay here. The room was lovely great bedding / bed good quality fixtures and fittings. The staff we spoke to were very professional and courteous. Only had breakfast but it was lovely , great selection . I’ve stayed in all of the main hotels in Cardiff over the years and this is by far the best! Highly recommended

Room tip: Do t be put off my the street location, buildings around as part of growing city!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2021

Dear Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback. We are very pleased your found our bedding given you maximum comfort and you enjoyed our welsh hospitality. Your kind words have been forwarded onto the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2021

Underwhelming and overpriced.

Room: Superior Junior Suite. Clean, comfortable but nothing special.

The Sorting Room restaurant: Overpriced and would have been disappointed at half the price. Well below standard. Waiting staff/service very slow. Despite paying for 3 course set menu in advance, left restaurant before third course because we didn’t want to wait any longer.

Spa: ridiculous that guests have to pay an additional £25 per person for 90 minutes to use the pool, especially when it’s marketed as a selling point for the hotel. This should be made clear when booking. Never stayed at a resort/spa hotel where I have then had to pay to use the facilities.

Overall, very disappointing. Staff don’t seem to care about guest experience. Better hotels close by.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Z6151YQpaulinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2021

Dear Z6151YQ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will always take constructive feedback onboard. Our Junior Suites offer plenty of space to relax. With sumptuous King bed, a comfortable sofa to curl up on, a desk for working or beautifying, a coveted coffee machine and a stunning bathroom complete with walk-in shower, they are the perfect choice for an indulgent weekend break for two. The Junior Suites also offer exclusive additional features including, Nespresso coffee machine and premium Elemis toiletries. From (34 sq. m).

I was surprised the décor wasn't to your taste, embracing a chic blend of classic-meets-contemporary luxury. Styled rooms around its own features in-keeping with the hotel’s historic architecture. Our headboards in the rooms are a prime example of original features, which carries from the original post office ceiling.

Regrading our set menu our prices reflect Cardiff Central are very competitive £24 for two course and £29 for three courses on lunch. I have passed on your feedback to the Restaurant Management team for further comment.

Our spa facility is unique by offering a hydrotherapy infinity pool bath overlooking the Welsh Capital, heated volcanic beds and sauna/ steam room. We were pleased to learn you enjoyed the overall facilities. All information is on our website for you to view before hand.


Kind Regards,
Ryan Parry
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2021 via mobile

Absolutely awful restaurant . Took 45 mins for starters to arrive . We were having a Christmas party and apparently enjoying ourselves too much and we’re told we could have no alcohol as we were enjoying ourselves too much. And then told to leave after our starters as we were told we were an embarrassment . In the end after the appalling service decided to leave and had amazing main course at le monde . There was no one in the restaurant. This restaurant is one to avoid if your looking to have a good time and enjoy yourself . Absolutely soulless

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 90kimberleyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phillippa Kadam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2021

Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the service provided during your visit to The Sorting Room was not up to the highest standards. Our guests enjoying themselves will always bring a smile to our faces, as we do pride ourselves on creating wonderful experiences and lasting memories. We have however unfortunately felt that our polite reminders to be considerate of others were not taken on board. Along with delicious food and carefully selected wines, we do also strive towards a lovely, enjoyable atmosphere for all of our guests. It is our duty of care and the love for customer service, that brings our esteemed guests back time and time again. Should any group of guests or individuals be found non-compliant, they would normally be asked to leave.

Warm regards, Guests Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews