We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Strawberrybonbon
Wales, United Kingdom

Fabulous afternoon tea

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2024
We went for afternoon tea there and it has to be the best food around, we’ve been here a few times and it’s my favourite as the cakes and sandwiches are delicious and the staff are wonderful especially Gina who is a fabulous person and an asset to the company, well done, keep it up
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$161
  • Vio.com
    AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
0.7 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$207
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
  • Priceline
    AU$243
  • Vio.com
    AU$192
0.3 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$100
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$101
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Vio.com
    AU$88
0.7 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$63
  • Priceline
    AU$71
  • Vio.com
    AU$62
  • Agoda.com
    AU$62
1.0 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$80
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Trip.com
    AU$189
0.8 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Vio.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$138
1.4 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$139
  • Novotel
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$132
  • Priceline
    AU$139
0.6 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$92
  • Vio.com
5.3 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free parking
  • Priceline
    AU$256
  • Vio.com
    AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$257
1.9 km from Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (3,383)
Filter reviews
3,383 results
Traveller rating
1,699
1,144
380
88
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,699
1,144
380
88
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station afternoon tea city centre single bed car park excellent location lovely hotel bars and restaurants coffee machine the air conditioning executive room saturday night motorpoint arena floor prosecco nightlife ncp
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 3,383 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Stayed here quite a few times. But this time it seems to of gone a bit down hill .
We were on the 11 floor the room was a bit outdated could of done with some tender loving care really. The mattress was very hard and also the pillows.There was only one spare pillow for the two of us. We had an evening meal there should of gone out really it was not that fantastic and the service was very very slow.There was only a few people having food i don't know how long we would of been there if it was full. There was only one waitress on and she had other things to do as well .
There used to be a really good breakfast but not as good as it used to be. We could only see one waitress on and she was busy but she was very polite and cheerful and very help full . We did notice that the Manager ( i take it was the manager ) told her to check something she was busy and had to leave what she was doing to check what ever he told her to do. I am sure he could of done it himself . Maybe they should get more staff so the service would be a bit better and faster.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

Good location right in the middle of Cardiff right beside train station. Check in online was easy. Ninth floor room was large, clean and comfortable. Lifts were quick and there was no waiting. Paid £10 for breakfast- there were a number of options all were pretty good. Only fault was the shower - it was one of those where you can either wet your front or back but not both at the same time. The shower head couldn’t be moved. We were only staying one night so not really an issue but if I was here longer it would be a problem

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 244sarahj561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

All in all, we were very disappointed after staying at a Clayton hotel previously, and we thought we wouldn't have any concerns booking into this one , we were wrong . Right , the beds , just wow , how small are they ....After asking to upgrade so we had a bigger bed , apparently a small double is now standard . Please be mindful of this if you are of a larger size . No hot water , fan did not work , not enough pillows , air con didn't work ...so small in room , you bumped into each other when you moved. Good points. The staff were amazing and tried to rectify some of the issues , so well done 😊. Breakfast asked for poached, which was amazing, but again , breakfast was very basic compared to previous Clayton we had stayed at.

Room tip: Park at train station near by , £13.25 for 24hrs
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

Didn't feel like a 4* hotel.
With the very average so-called executive room, TV that worked when it felt like it, uninspiring view of the dirty walls of the atrium, the poorly stocked bar and the lukewarm breakfast, the whole experience was underwhelming. It was a coin toss between booking here or the Radisson Blu. Won't make that mistake again.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Piers H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Well what can I say… staff are very friendly and attentive, Always thriving for the best.. even upgraded our room which was a bonus! Rooms were absolutely stunning & spotless.. beds really comfy which allows a good nights sleep! We stayed for 2 nights

USB ports and normal charging ports which is always handy.

Tv has Netflix, YouTube etc.

Only downfall was breakfast.. which is why only 4 stars were given ( but this could be down to preference) bacon was really fatty and sausages tastes unusual to say the least.. juices were lukewarm! Your better off going to Wetherspoons across the road 😁

Unfortunately on the last night stay there was a huge noise disturbance from three men on the same floor but staff were quick to address this and police were called but still resulted in not going to sleep until around 5am which was when it all calmed down. Staff did take my number so hopefully something can be done to rectify this.

But all in all a fantastic stay! Security is 10/10😁

Room tip: No parking
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Trinity-leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews