We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$142
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MJG
London, United Kingdom

Nice enough and great location for the city centre

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024via mobile
The restaurant was nice, could do with some extra bar staff at times, but was nice to have a meal in the restaurant one evening. The hot tub and steam room need to be hotter as both were not hot. The gym was well equipped if a little on the small side. The bedroom was nice, comfy bed and well furnished. The bathroom was a little tired and despite staying several nights house keeping did not refill the shower fell which I would have expected without needing to ask. If you are looking for a cheap hotel this is worth a visit due tot eh comfy bed and location.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review
Responded 13 Apr 2024
Dear mark g,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location and that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. Your comments regarding the bar staff and the temperature of the hot tub and steam room are duly noted, please be assured that we regularly monitor the temperature of the leisure facilities on hourly and this was not into our attention.

.We appreciate your feedback about the gym and the bedroom, and we're pleased that you found the bed comfortable and the room well-furnished.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the bathroom amenities not being refilled promptly during your stay.

we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an even more enjoyable experience.

Best regards,
Trevor Fernandes
Assistant General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$64
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$197
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$73
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$76
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Lobby View
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
1.0 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ibis Budget
    AU$74
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$67
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Pool
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
AU$90
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • vocoHotels
    AU$211
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Novotel Cardiff Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (2,941)
Filter reviews
2,942 results
Traveller rating
1,208
1,088
386
158
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,208
1,088
386
158
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room swimming pool car park the sofa bed leisure facilities steam room minute walk lovely hotel good size changing rooms per night reception staff great facilities cardiff centre coffee machine would stay again reception area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,942 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

We had a lovely stay. Our family came to meet us for lunch in The Customs Shed and Lit and Catia were fantastic. Lit was so helpful at breakfast for the rest of our stay. We will definitely stay again when visiting family. Great location and very convenient.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear Sadiem870,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that Lit and Catia provided you with fantastic service during your stay at The Customs Shed. We're glad that you found the location convenient and that you enjoyed your time with family. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to see family. If there's anything else we can do to make your future stays even more enjoyable.

Best regards,
Trevor Fernandes
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

We had a booking scheduled for Monday 8 - Wednesday 10 April at Novotel Cardiff Centre. However, due to the Rail Strike on Monday 8 April, we contacted Novotel and asked to adjust the booking to Tuesday 9 April - Thursday 11 April. They indicated that it would not be a problem, but the price would be increased by £55 over the 2 night period (just accommodation). Having stayed with Novotel on previous occasions and on the basis that they were not prepared to honour the original price, we cancelled the booking, despite the fact that they had plenty of availability on the Tuesday and Wednesday evenings. We feel that this is terrible customer service, in view of the circumstances being completely out of our control.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pjltrasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Dear Pjitrasa,


Thank you for your review. we are sorry to hear about the strike which was uncertain. Please understand that we are happy to help with guest concerns in terms of changing dates but need to mind that hotels work on different booking policies when guest book the rooms.

if the guest books under non refundable policy, the hotels cannot move the dates forward neither do the refund as the term and conditions are accepted by the guest before choosing the hotel.

in case if guest choose flexible rate, the hotel is happy to move the dated however the pricing doesn't remain the same at the time your booking. the pricing changes, depending on the market demand and supply. on the occasion while you wanted to change the date on 09/04/2024, the demand for the rooms in Cardiff city center increased and therefore the quote was high in last minute.

we want to thank you for your time for reviewing us.

Best regards,
Trevor Fernandes
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024

We had a lovely time at this hotel. My son enjoyed the swimming and breakfast. The staff ( Sabine and Ria) at breakfast area were really lovely and friendly. They gave little minion activity for them to do while me and my husband enjoy the meal. Both my kids enjoyed there and want to there again .

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi Shellyk818,

Thank you you so much for this great review, iti is so nice to know that you had your family had a fantastic stay with us here at The Novotel Cardiff. It is always especially nice to answer a review which mentions the staff personally, I will pass on your comments to Sabine and Ria. They are always so happy to receive comments such as yours and it really does make a difference.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

The Hotel is generally quite good with the staff being it's biggest asset.
If I'm being honest the rooms are in need of at upgrade, over the years this is the fourth time we have visited this hotel and it looks like the fixtures and fittings hasn't changed, it's comfortable but room 201 is close to a corridor fire door which bangs as it closes, we could hear the bang as people passed through it.
At the time of our visit, there was a Fawlty Towers show being held in the dining room twice a day so this room was not being used for breakfast and it was held in the hotel bar, again the staff was wonderful and couldn't do enough for you.
All in all we had a pleasant visit at the Novotel Cardiff and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian7556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Dear Brian7556,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your Easter break at Novotel Cardiff. We're delighted to hear that you found our staff to be our biggest asset and that you had a generally pleasant visit.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused about the noise from the corridor.

It's great to hear that you wouldn't hesitate to return to Novotel Cardiff, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thanking You,
Trevor Fernandes
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

We had a great and enjoyable time. Megan was very helpful and a great staff member. The hotel room was very nice and clean. The swimming pool and gym were great. The food at the restaurant was tasty and enjoyable. The car park was spacious and the easily accessible. Great location

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hosni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Cardiff Centre, General Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Dear hosnib2024,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Megan will be delighted to know that her assistance made your stay even more enjoyable. We take pride in maintaining clean and comfortable accommodations, and we're glad you found the room to your liking. It's fantastic to hear that you made the most of our facilities, including the swimming pool and gym. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our restaurant staff as well. We appreciate your feedback on our spacious and accessible car park, and we're pleased that our location suited your needs. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay!

Thanking you,
Trevor Fernandes.
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews