We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and over priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor Parc Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manor Parc Country Hotel
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tired and over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Manor Parc, to charge there prices they should be much better than the likes of Comfort hotels or Innkeepers lodges,ect, but it is worse, do not have a cooked breakfast which you pay extra for, never worth the money. one good point the staff were fine, but over all very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris8o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    29
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
28
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

The hotel was of a good standard if a little overpriced although I have found this at other hotels previously on the day of large events at the Millennium Stadium.
Staff were friendly and polite and were able to offer information on local attractions when asked.
Breakfast was included in the price and was adequate but nothing special.
One warning would be to travellers arriving in their own transport not to depend on their satnav for directions. The postcode for the hotel puts it on the M4 motorway. Use a map.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weebrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had a reception at the Manor Parc after the funeral of my father in one of their function rooms.

Maybe naively we expected an invoice for the hire of room to be sent. However the day after the funeral the Manor Parc phoned my mother to say that we had not paid for the room the day before – they had expected us to go to the hotel reception and settle the bill. Their attitude was very upsetting for my mother and when I phoned the hotel to speak to them I was told that it was obvious that we should have paid on the day on the funeral and to quote them “it was not their job to chase payment”.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We booked this restaurant for a romantic meal.

Granted we were slightly late but the chef had ordered the waiter to get out starters stright away !! There was a large 60th Party but they were sat to one side of the room. The hotel has wonderful views of Cardiff which was why we booked it. We were sat in the corner of the room looking at a painting that would have looked better in a car boot sale.

I asked the waiter why he did not seat us near the many of empty tables overlooking the view - he said he didn't want is disturbed by the 60th birthday party guest - they were hardly partying hard !!!

The house wine was so poor we were forced to purchase a decent bottle costing £30. The food was adequate. The service impersonal !!! The decor in serious need of a makeover !!! very very tired.

There are so many great restaurants in Cardiff and I would not here again !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed here for one night as we were guests at a wedding. On checking in we specified that we had booked a double room and were given the key to our room which turned out to be a triple. Unpacked, had some lunch and started getting ready for the wedding ceremony. Half an hour before the wedding started we got a call from reception to say they had allocated us the wrong room and we had to move rooms immediately. No help was offered with the move and it took us 3 trips to move to another room a fair distance and a couple of flights of stairs away. By the time we had moved and finished getting ready we almost missed the wedding and were very stressed but were told by reception that we weren't to worry as it would all be sorted out in the morning (by which we assumed our bill would be discounted to compensate for the inconvenience). However, on checking out we requested a discount and were told by a grubby looking man in a t shirt who seemed to be in charge that we could not have a refund and were being unfair in even asking for one. No apology, he just couldn't care less - eventually he agreed to knock £10 off the bill. Spoke with the family who ended up in our original room and they apparently were not allowed to go in there for 2 hours after we left it so I don't know what the rush was all about.
Also, if you leave your table to go to the loo make sure you don't leave any drinks there as the waiters will take them away - yes, even full glasses of wine, spirits and champagne. When we (a table of ten people) challenged the bar staff about this we were met with very rude responses. Our drinks were eventually replaced but it was done grudgingly.
The room itself was good and the breakfast very nice but some serious customer service training need to be carried out. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and have never been spoken to as rudely as we were at this hotel - one guest we spoke with this morning likened it to Fawlty Towers..........

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
0.6 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
28.0 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
19.2 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.2 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
10.6 km away
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Parc Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Parc Country Hotel

Property: Manor Parc Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road | Thornhill, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): $95 - $305
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Parc Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manor Parc Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Park Hotel Cardiff
Manor Parc Country Cardiff
Manor Parc Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing