We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Faith restorer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faith restorer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I travel in the UK a lot but I’d given up on B&Bs, preferring the faceless uniformity of the big chain budget hotels to the gamble of the often sour faced owners/managers of independently run hotels. We only ended up staying in this hotel because all the big chain budget hotels were booked out for the weekend. This hotel, however, has restored my faith.

The Hotel itself is old fashioned but comfortable with nice little individual touches like a silver tea tray in the room and Denby cups and saucers. Keith, the owner, was friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and was non-judgemental when I asked about local bars and came out about my nerdy Torchwood obsession. I really did feel comfortable there and not a nuisance, or in the way, as I’ve been made to feel at other B&Bs.

The hotel is in a great location with the town centre being a short walk through the park across the road and past the castle. There’s a creek running through the park from which you can catch the “aquabus” (boat) to the bay where Torchwood was filmed and there’s also free, easily found, street parking (we managed to park about 10 metres away).

If you want something different and enjoy personal service I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. We’ll be returning there, for a longer stay, as soon as we can get the money together.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    54
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
15
76
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here for the Wales France 6 Nations wekend on arrival was greeted very courteously by Kieth one of the partners and promtly signed in etc
however my room was right at the top of the house not good with arthritis in hips and the bathroom was back down 3 flights of stairs as was toilet !!!!! and i dont think room 18 gets used very often wallpaper peeling around window and cobwebs Dracula would have been proud of but bed was comfy tv and kettle all functioned ok and breakfast well id heard that it was good and i was not dissappointed
the decor is very much 1900s in keeping with the property just needs a bit of tlc here and there little things like put a toilet roll holder on the wall instead of just leaving rolls on shelf or on top of cistern overall it was ok as ok goes oh and is ideally situated close to central cardiff

Room Tip: do not have 16 17 or 18 as they are the attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at the Courtfield 9th-11th March with two friends from Anglesey to watch the rugby match.Smashing place,three goods pubs nearby and will be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Less noise from traffic at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed three nights at the Courtfield owned by Keith and Norman two really nice guys it was warm and clean and the BREAKFAST was something else I am now back home and reduced to a cup of tea and a round of toast in the morning. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Look at reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had an excellent stay, arrived Friday evening with a very friendly welcome from Keith, left Sunday morning. Really enjoyed my stay there nice room and a comfortable bed, but the best thing has to be the wonderful breakfast it's presentation and taste is something to be experienced. Both Keith and Norman work hard at delivering a first class service for a very acceptable price, the Hotel is within a short walk for the Swalec stadium where my meeting took place and also for the millenium stadium of the city centre. Thank you Keith and Norman.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymro2Flintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.2 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,811 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 km away
Number 62
Number 62
#7 of 45 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Property: Courtfield Hotel
Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing