We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - sparklingly clean”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Railway Cottage

View of apartment and private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of apartment and private garden
Peaceful double bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
View of apartment and private garden
Peaceful double bedroom
Kitchen
Sitting area over looking the Garth mountain
Garden and patio
Fagin's Ale and Chop House next door!
Sitting area and kitchen
Beautiful view of the Garth Mountain and patio
Kitchen and living area
Kitchen
Sitting area
Bathroom
Nearby Castell Coch
Caerphilly Castle 4.5 Miles away
View of the Garth Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cardiff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LMJJ
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - sparklingly clean”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great Little cottage run by very helpful family. Cottage is very clean and well kept. Kitchen has everything you need. Off road, gated parking. We cycled into Cardiff along the bike trail, lovely route along side the river Taff. Great holiday rental

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHL
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely gem hidden next to the main road”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really great little cottage attached to the owners house. Fantastically located for Cardiff yet not anywhere near the hussle bussle that comes with it.
Don't worry at all about being next the railway line, it isn't a problem or disturbing in anyway and I'm a light sleeper!
Very fairly priced and off-street parking is such a benefit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamm
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything!
Liked least: Almost nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
720maggie
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere close to Cardiff”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Working with Robert was very pleasant. The cottage is lovely and private. The WIFI is very good. Our stay was for five nights. We chose this cottage because it is on the outskirts of Cardiff among Welsh people. We were in Wales because of my Welsh ancestry. We are from the US and did not have a car in Cardiff. Transportation into the city was very easy via train. We also took a day trip to the American Museum in Britain in Bath . Getting to St Fagans National History Museum was also easy. Robert was very helpful in taking us to the Cardiff airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathi77
Bad Oldesloe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home-like and child-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed ther for one week with our one year old baby son.
The cottage is really comfortable and clean. Everything what we did need was there.
Rob is a very helpful person, he picked us from the train station and repaired our buggy.
We got very fine cakes and wine for welcome,
We felt us very good in this lovely little cottage. Our baby too because he could crawl everywhere without getting hurt, it is an absolutely chlid-friendly apartment.
Taffs Well is a little village with a supermarket and some pubs, but we travelled very often to cardiff. The train station is not far away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the little garden
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing