We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JAA_NewportUK
Newport, UK

Clean hotel, friendly staff but check when breakfast finishes!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 May 2024
Great location, very clean and tidy hotel, staff very friendly, just check when they finish serving breakfast as they had run out of some basics by 9.45am
Date of stay: May 2024
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • HotelIndigo.com
    AU$154
  • Algotels
    AU$137
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
0.1 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Trip.com
    AU$183
  • Hotels.com
    AU$204
0.4 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$62
  • Vio.com
    AU$63
  • Expedia.com
    AU$64
  • StayForLong
    AU$64
0.7 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Exterior
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Trip.com
    AU$190
0.1 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$137
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
2.0 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$83
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Booking.com
    AU$140
  • Vio.com
    AU$136
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
1.0 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$268
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
  • Algotels
    AU$239
  • vocoHotels
    AU$268
2.5 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$74
  • Booking.com
    AU$74
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
  • StayForLong
    AU$79
0.9 km from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
178
42
25
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
178
42
25
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean great central location short stay excellent value for money one night stay motorpoint arena ellis concert castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2024 via mobile

Amazing location. Often stay here if visiting Cardiff for a night out or other social event. Really quiet at night despite the activities outside. And really convenient for bars, pubs, clubs and shopping. Parking is close by if you know where to look. Will be staying again soon.

Room tip: Parking should be planned in advance. Depends on how much you want to spend versus time to walk.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2024

So unfriendly pokey and small ... sink was blocked .. tea /coffee conderments missing.. shower so small flooded the bathroom no bath mat.. awake until 4am due to being opposite 2 night clubs asked to be moved but desk clerk just said no with his feet up really rude .. never stay here again . . Do not recommend even for 1 night .

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2024 via mobile

NOISY!!!!!

Stayed on a Tuesday night and the night club opposite had extremely loud music going until 4am. Terrible night’s “sleep”. Definitely won’t be staying here again. The bass was so loud that not even earplugs helped. Room was clean and tidy enough but that’s no compensation for a complete night’s sleep lost.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank GDYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel for many reasons. One is location, just off queens street, easy access from train station, bus stops, shops, restaurants, museums and Catholic cathedral, all of which I visited when in Cardiff.
I was warmly greeted at reception on arrival, departure and when I had any queries on travel. The room, reception and food area were spotlessly clean and request for extra towels all were met.
I hope to return later in the year.
Many thanks to all the helpful members of staff.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mmf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent location to explore cardiff. Very quiet and the staff also very helpful and polite . Breakfast was lovely. Cost was very reasonable.Will definitely go again when in that area as we all enjoyed Cardiff and the friendly people.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews