We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
urbanozzy
United Kingdom

Beware of Unnecessary Parking Charges

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 May 2024
I recently attended an event at the Mercure Cardiff North and was dismayed by their unnecessary and predatory parking charges. Despite the hotel's location in a quiet area with little traffic, they have employed Parking Eye to manage their parking. This system seems more focused on penalising visitors than providing any real parking solutions.

For a venue that hosts events, implementing such stringent parking fees without just cause detracts significantly from the overall experience. It's disheartening and frankly surprising that a reputable hotel would choose to enforce such unwelcoming policies. This practice left a negative impression on me, and I find myself compelled to advise others to consider alternative venues where guest convenience is a priority. I will certainly think twice before returning or recommending this location to others.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 May 2024
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Mercure Cardiff North is situated in a tranquil area, which typically allows for a peaceful and convenient stay for our guests. We regret to hear that the parking charges you encountered did not meet your expectations and seemed to detract from your overall experience.

Our parking management system is intended to ensure the availability of parking for all our guests and visitors, particularly during events when the demand is higher. We apologise if this aspect of our service did not enhance your visit. We continuously strive to find a balance between providing ample parking and maintaining a service that is fair to all users.

We are proud to host a variety of events and always aim to make our guests' experiences seamless and enjoyable. Please rest assured that we value your feedback and it will be taken into consideration as we evaluate our facilities and services.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience.
Best regards,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$88
  • Priceline
    AU$86
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$83
  • Vio.com
    AU$88
3.1 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$123
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$103
  • Vio.com
    AU$103
  • Trip.com
    AU$123
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
AU$185
  • Hilton
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$185
3.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
  • Agoda.com
    AU$170
  • Vio.com
4.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$153
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
4.1 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$76
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$138
  • Novotel
    AU$138
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • Priceline
    AU$138
3.8 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$192
  • Priceline
    AU$192
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
5.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$123
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
  • Vio.com
    AU$123
  • Hotels.com
    AU$137
5.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
148
51
28
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
51
28
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working nights accor member duty manager reception area free parking bus stop communal areas overnight stay clean tidy stayed for nights very nice hotel staff were polite good nights sleep buffet breakfast city centre a great stay front of house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Excellent. Comfortable rooms. We ate in the restaurant three nights -delicious curry and made spicier for some and milder for others. Also very fresh fish and chips. Very good food.
Spacious . Exceptionally good staff. Very kind and attentive. Next time we are in Cardiff we will come back. Visited for sporting fixtures. Parking great and easy access to pitches and fixtures.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jennifer4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that our rooms provided the comfort you needed during your stay. It's delightful to know that the culinary offerings at our RGB Restaurant, especially the curry tailored to your taste preferences and our fresh fish and chips, enhanced your dining experience.

Our team takes great pride in offering exceptional service, and we are glad that you found them to be kind and attentive. We understand how important convenient parking and easy access to local sports venues are to our guests, and it's great to hear that these aspects met your expectations.

We eagerly anticipate your next visit and the opportunity to welcome you back to the vibrant city of Cardiff.

We look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,


Atanas Mladenov, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

This hotel was very good, amazing service and everyone was so friendly and lovely which made our stay even better. Danilo who was working in reception was very kind as well. i recommend to everyone looking for a trip around the area with an amazing city not far away as well.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Scarlett,
Thank you for sharing your opinion after your recent stay.

It brings us immense joy to know that your stay was enhanced by the amazing breakfast and dinner provided by our RGB Restaurant. Our culinary team takes great pride in preparing a variety of delightful dishes for our guests.

We are also thrilled to hear that the comfort of the rooms met your expectations. Providing a restful night's sleep with comfortable beds is a top priority for us at Mercure Cardiff North.

Your compliments regarding our service and the friendliness of our team are greatly appreciated. Danilo, in particular, will be delighted to be recognized for his kindness and dedication to guest satisfaction.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,


Atanas Mladenov, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

The trip was incredible there was brilliant service the whole stay, Danilo was especially welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and fresh and I couldn’t fault anything about the stay! I will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Isobel,
Thank you for such a positive review of your stay.

We are thrilled to hear that our service met your expectations and that Danilo's warm welcome made a lasting impression. It's heartening to know that the breakfast was to your liking, providing a delicious start to your day.

Our team strives to deliver an exceptional experience to each guest, and your feedback serves as a delightful affirmation of their efforts. I will pass the compliments to Danilo!!!

We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you back for another brilliant stay with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Many thanks again,


Atanas Mladenov, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

2nd time I've stayed here and have experienced superb service. The hotel is clean, tidy and the food is excellent. ALL the staff are professional and a credit to the hotel...in particular Moses and Christine.
Will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear Davidmk,
Thank you for this great review.

It's heartening to hear that your second stay at our hotel was met with the superb service that we strive for, and that the cleanliness and quality of food enhanced your visit.
We are particularly proud of our team members, Moses and Christine, for making a lasting impression, and it's wonderful to know they contributed positively to your stay.
Your intent to return is the highest compliment we could receive, and we eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Cardiff North.

Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,


Atanas Mladenov
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

Not advertised, but they charge for parking, which was added onto my bill. Then I still got a parking ticket from a third party parking charge company with an appeal process that wasted loads of my time. A convenient hotel stop became an administrative nightmare.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We regret to hear about the inconveniences you faced regarding the parking situation. While our hotel does have a parking fee, which is intended to improve our guests' experience, we apologize for any confusion regarding the charges.

We always strive to ensure transparency and clarity in our communications, and we are saddened to learn that this was not your impression.

Regarding your experience with the third-party parking charge, we understand how frustrating this process can be and empathize with the inconvenience this has caused you.

While we do not have control over external entities, we regret that it impacted your overall experience at our establishment.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews