We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mike N
Eastbourne, United Kingdom

Parking scam

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2024via mobile
Not advertised, but they charge for parking, which was added onto my bill. Then I still got a parking ticket from a third party parking charge company with an appeal process that wasted loads of my time. A convenient hotel stop became an administrative nightmare.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 7 Apr 2024
Dear Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We regret to hear about the inconveniences you faced regarding the parking situation. While our hotel does have a parking fee, which is intended to improve our guests' experience, we apologize for any confusion regarding the charges.

We always strive to ensure transparency and clarity in our communications, and we are saddened to learn that this was not your impression.

Regarding your experience with the third-party parking charge, we understand how frustrating this process can be and empathize with the inconvenience this has caused you.

While we do not have control over external entities, we regret that it impacted your overall experience at our establishment.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Best regards,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
  • HotelIndigo.com
    AU$154
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$61
  • Priceline
    AU$69
  • Vio.com
    AU$61
  • Expedia.com
    AU$64
3.1 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$91
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Trip.com
    AU$92
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
  • Agoda.com
    AU$187
  • Hotels.com
    AU$204
4.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$190
3.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$139
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
5.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Booking.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
3.8 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$81
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$297
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$268
  • Vio.com
    AU$259
  • Expedia.com
    AU$268
5.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$74
  • Booking.com
    AU$74
  • Priceline
    AU$74
  • Expedia.com
    AU$74
3.9 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
149
51
28
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
51
28
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working nights accor member duty manager reception area free parking bus stop communal areas overnight stay clean tidy stayed for nights very nice hotel staff were polite good nights sleep buffet breakfast city centre a great stay front of house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

Excellent service and very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you apart from moses behind the bar who over charged for drinks and refused to compensate the difference.. this happened to another couple looks as if hes on the fiddle... sorted by manager

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 244simonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Dear Simon,
Thank you for commenting on your stay.

It's gratifying to hear that you found our service excellent and our team very friendly, as we always strive to provide a welcoming environment for our guests.

Regarding the situation you encountered at the bar, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We take such matters seriously and, while such incidents are not indicative of our usual standards, we are reviewing our procedures to ensure that all guests receive fair and transparent service.

We hope to welcome you back.
Best wishes,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

Great stay at Mecure Cardiff North. With a great room and comfortable bed. Attended a murder mystery night with dinner and the cast were brilliant and very engaging after the event especially the youngest cast member, Benjamin who was very impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zaibah2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Dear Zaiba,
Thanks for this kind review.

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and found the comfort of our beds to your liking. It's rewarding to know that the murder mystery night was a hit and that Benjamin, our youngest cast member, made a lasting impression. Our team strives to create memorable experiences, and your feedback affirms our efforts.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,


Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Panchi was great, very friendly. Curry was excellent. Dining room looks much better in person than pictures give it credit for. Rooms are nice and had some free drink coupons available when checking in. Lovely place, would heartily recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Taylor,
Thank you for this great review.

We're thrilled to hear that you found our team, particularly Panchi, to be friendly and welcoming. It's also great to know that the curry was to your liking and that our dining room exceeded your expectations beyond what photos could portray. We're pleased that you enjoyed your room and the welcome gesture of free drink coupons upon check-in. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and serves as a motivation for our entire team.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Very best wishes,


Atanas Mladenov, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

Well, was a great experience, I used to stay for 2 weeks, everyone from the stuff are nice and friendly people, good room service, good chefs, good food ! I'm happy for what I choose ! Keep it going guys you are amazing !

Kind Regards,

Marius Adrian Matei

Room tip: Highly recommend!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marius Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Marius,
Thank you for this positive review of your stay.

We're thrilled to hear that our team's friendliness and the quality of room service made your two-week stay exceptional. It's also gratifying to know our culinary offerings met your expectations, with skilled chefs delivering delicious meals. Your satisfaction with the accommodations and the overall service truly warms our hearts.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Best wishes,


Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

£8 per night car parking, apparently introduced in January. I saw it was free on the booking page but it wasn't stated in the booking confirmation. Great staff, comfortable room/bed. The a/c is good but a bit noisy. The breakfast is 7/10. Great out of town location.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JamesMemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear James,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We're delighted to hear that you found our team to be great and the room and bed comfortable. It's also gratifying to know that our location served you well.

Regarding the car parking fee, we apologise for any confusion, a nominal charge for parking to ensure the continued quality of our services was introduced from the 1st of January.

We've taken note of your feedback on the air conditioning and breakfast and will always strive to improve where we can.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
All the best,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews