We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zaiba H
Newport, United Kingdom

Great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024
Great stay at Mecure Cardiff North. With a great room and comfortable bed. Attended a murder mystery night with dinner and the cast were brilliant and very engaging after the event especially the youngest cast member, Benjamin who was very impressive. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Mar 2024
Dear Zaiba,
Thanks for this kind review.

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and found the comfort of our beds to your liking. It's rewarding to know that the murder mystery night was a hit and that Benjamin, our youngest cast member, made a lasting impression. Our team strives to create memorable experiences, and your feedback affirms our efforts.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$138
  • Vio.com
    AU$154
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$64
  • Priceline
    AU$66
  • Vio.com
    AU$63
  • Expedia.com
    AU$65
3.1 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$77
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
  • Trip.com
    AU$78
  • Agoda.com
    AU$64
3.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$197
  • Expedia.com
    AU$196
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
    AU$192
4.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$188
  • Hilton
    AU$188
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$186
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
3.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$53
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$139
  • Novotel
    AU$139
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
    AU$139
3.8 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$172
  • Vio.com
4.9 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free parking
AU$193
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$170
  • Priceline
    AU$193
5.5 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$120
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$120
5.0 km from Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
148
51
28
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
51
28
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working nights accor member duty manager reception area free parking bus stop communal areas overnight stay clean tidy stayed for nights very nice hotel staff were polite good nights sleep buffet breakfast city centre a great stay front of house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Panchi was great, very friendly. Curry was excellent. Dining room looks much better in person than pictures give it credit for. Rooms are nice and had some free drink coupons available when checking in. Lovely place, would heartily recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Taylor,
Thank you for this great review.

We're thrilled to hear that you found our team, particularly Panchi, to be friendly and welcoming. It's also great to know that the curry was to your liking and that our dining room exceeded your expectations beyond what photos could portray. We're pleased that you enjoyed your room and the welcome gesture of free drink coupons upon check-in. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and serves as a motivation for our entire team.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Very best wishes,


Atanas Mladenov, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

Well, was a great experience, I used to stay for 2 weeks, everyone from the stuff are nice and friendly people, good room service, good chefs, good food ! I'm happy for what I choose ! Keep it going guys you are amazing !

Kind Regards,

Marius Adrian Matei

Room tip: Highly recommend!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marius Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Marius,
Thank you for this positive review of your stay.

We're thrilled to hear that our team's friendliness and the quality of room service made your two-week stay exceptional. It's also gratifying to know our culinary offerings met your expectations, with skilled chefs delivering delicious meals. Your satisfaction with the accommodations and the overall service truly warms our hearts.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Best wishes,


Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024

£8 per night car parking, apparently introduced in January. I saw it was free on the booking page but it wasn't stated in the booking confirmation. Great staff, comfortable room/bed. The a/c is good but a bit noisy. The breakfast is 7/10. Great out of town location.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JamesMemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear James,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We're delighted to hear that you found our team to be great and the room and bed comfortable. It's also gratifying to know that our location served you well.

Regarding the car parking fee, we apologise for any confusion, a nominal charge for parking to ensure the continued quality of our services was introduced from the 1st of January.

We've taken note of your feedback on the air conditioning and breakfast and will always strive to improve where we can.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
All the best,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

The best thing about our stay at this Mercure was the food and customer service. The food was always hot, delicious and presented to a very high standard. The self serving breakfast was also incredibly fresh and hot. The customer service was amazing especially waiter Panchi who was fabulous!
The only downside to the hotel was our cold room and ( outside wall) bathroom -there was no fixed radiator in either room , only an air conditioning unit in the bedroom which was old and noisy. There was also a small plug in radiator but not really great for such a spacious bedroom. I wouldn’t want to stay during a very cold spell !
However on the whole I would recommend this hotel mostly for the incredible food and spacious room - just take some warm clothes!!

Room tip: Check for a radiator in your room !
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clairemU2543GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We're thrilled to hear that our culinary offerings and the service provided by Panchi made a positive impact on your stay. Our team takes great pride in delivering hot, delicious meals and exceptional customer service.

As for your comment regarding the temperature in your room, we're sorry to hear that you found it to be cold. While all our rooms are equipped with air conditioning units to ensure guest comfort, it seems there may have been a shortfall during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the matter to ensure our guestrooms provide a cosy and warm environment, even during cooler periods.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Ok so to be fair the rooms were spacious and nice and the problems I encountered weren't entirely their fault but the response to them and the complete lack of care taken in resolving issues was pretty disgraceful. On day two I went to my room to discover that there was no water. There was no water for the entire afternoon and all evening. Pretty gross and when water did return the next day it was brown and disgusting. Meaning I couldn't shower or flush for almost two days!!! All emails of complaint or seeking assistance or even compensation were completely ignored!

Room tip: Parking is not included!!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Charles,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We're pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and to your liking. Our team strives to provide comfortable and well-appointed accommodations, complete with a range of amenities.

We regret to hear about the issues you faced with the water supply during your stay. We want to assure you that the situation you described is not common at our establishment, and we always aim to maintain the highest standards of service and hospitality. Should any unexpected incidents occur, we endeavour to resolve them promptly and efficiently, and we apologise if this was not your experience.

Rest assured, we value all feedback and are committed to ensuring that all our guests have a pleasant stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience.
Best regards,

Dorota Price, General Manager
hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews